Kanes Furniture - Kanes Furniture, Casselberry, FL - told store at time of purchase that wanted to pick up furniture, but furiture was delivered anway - then told $ 50 delivery charge would be waived, but it wasn't - still don't have furniture as a result

Posted on Wednesday, November 20th, 2002 at 12:00am CST by 0509854c

Company: Kanes Furniture

Location: CASSELBERRY, FL, US

Category: Stores, Shopping

November 18, 2005

RE: http://www.complaints.com/november2002/complaintoftheday.november19.8.htm

Business Reply: November 18, 2005 Response to Web Posting: (Kanes Furniture, Casselberry, FL - told store at time of purchase that wanted to pick up furniture, but furniture was delivered anyway - then told $ 50 delivery charge would be waived, but it wasn't - still don't have furniture as a result) URL: http://www.complaints.com/november2002/complaintoftheday.november19.8.htm Consumer purchased 2 dinette chairs on November 6, 2002 in our Casselberry store location. The customer did advise the sales associate that they would like to pick the chairs up rather then paying for the delivery service. The sales associate noted in the comments of the order that the customer wanted to pick up the merchandise in our Orange Blossom Trail Store on November 11, 2002. However, our sales associate in error scheduled a delivery date within the computer system instead of specifying a pick up date for November 11, 2002. Unfortunately, this error wasn’t caught until the day of delivery. As the customer mentioned in their correspondence our automated system phoned their residence prior to the expected delivery date for confirmation purposes. Our records do not indicate that we received a return call from the customer. Therefore, the 2 dining room chairs were placed on a delivery truck to be delivered to the residence at no charge to the customer. At some point in the day the delivery driver called our Casselberry store because he noticed that an error had been made (customer wanted to pick up not have

delivered) and inquired how to proceed. Our records indicate that our store personnel had spoken with the customer and explained the situation. The customer informed our store personnel that they didn’t want the delivery and that they would pick the chairs up. However, if the chairs were not in the store by the next day they would cancel the order. Unfortunately, the chairs that were dropped off at the store were found to have concealed manufacturing defects. On November 12, 2002 the customer decided to cancel the order and the deposit amount was later refunded. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to state our position regarding this matter.

Kindest Regards,

Shannon L. McCarty

Corporate Customer Service Manager

November 19, 2002:

Complaints.com received the following consumer message on November 18, 2002:

From: COMPLAINTS.COM_FORM_MAIL_56454#

RE: Kanes Furniture, Casselberry, FL - told store at time of purchase that wanted to pick up furniture, but furiture was delivered anway - then told $ 50 delivery charge would be waived, but it wasn't - still don't have furniture as a result

Kanes Furniture

360 Sr 436

Casselberry, Florida 32707

Ph (407)-831-0011

kane's furniture. Bought two side chairs for an existing dining. Fifty dollars to deliver so we said no, we will pick them up at the wherehouse. Automated message service from them calls and said they will be delivered to our house the next day. Called and explained we did not and will not pay to have them delivered that they were suppose to go to the wherehouse for pickup.

Wait thirty minutes on the phone to hear the customer serv. rep.say she can't cancel it but the manager says he will comp the delivery charge. Next day driver calls up and said he noted there was no charge for delivery and wanted to know why. It was explained. He said he needed to talk to the office. They call, I now need to pay a delivery charge or they can't be delivered.

Two more check and two more call backs from them. All for naught. Alledgedly they will now go to the wherehouse. We spent all day waiting on a complimentary delivery not to mention numerous phone calls and have nothing for it. I remind all that we originally wanted to and have documentation for a wherehouse pickup by us. Hopefully Kanes can go the way of Levits and so many other arrogant out of touch retailers who truely could care less about a customer once they sign on they dotted line.

Mike G


0 Comments

Post a Comment