2001 Subaru 2001 H-6-3.0 outback legacy - repeated brake problems

Posted on Monday, February 17th, 2003 at 12:00am CST by 62cf55bd

Company: 2001 Subaru 2001 H-6-3.0 outback legacy - repeated brake problems

Category: Other

Complaints.com received the following consumer message on February 15, 2003:

From: cariboulacenet cariboulacenet [COMPLAINTS.COM_FORM_MAIL_21895#]

RE: 2001 Subaru 2001 H-6-3.0 outback legacy - repeated brake problems

my subaru 2001 H-6-3.0 Legacy Outback purchased march 2,2001 has had repeated brake problems. Our

vendor-dealer Shingle Springs Nissan-Subaru in Shingle Springs, California has repaired and replaced brake

rotors and pads/ June 25, 2002 @ 20,885 miles Shingle Springs service dept found front rotors warped and

turned and repaired same. On October 7, 2002 @25376 miles found front brakes at 50% and rear brakes at

60%. On February 13, 2003 Shingle Springs @ 31108 miles again machined front rotors and replaced both front

pads. They advised us to downshift when necessary when driving through hills and to use brakes only when

necessry. Further that they would not replace brakes again on warranty. {i do have extended warranty) This is strange advise and when coupled with prior problems I wonder if there is a problem with defective

brakes on this model. I would appreciate any information your company could provide me on this

issue. thanks

Laurence A. Lacey,

Jackson, California 95642.

E-Mail COMPLAINTS.COM_FORM_MAIL_65857#


2 Comments

c04c5e67, 2008-04-14, 03:18PM CDT

I have the same model of car (h63.0), I have had the car three years and replace the roters 4 times and had brake work done 10 times. The brakes have been completely overhauled and replaced. They continue to warp and need replacement.

314a173d, 2009-02-09, 09:24AM CST

Hello, I know this message is very old, but I was wondering if you were still available and whether you ever heard back about your problem. I have the same problem with my 2005 Subaru legacy....

Post a Comment