Verizon Phone, DSL & Direct TV packages - Rip off

Posted on Tuesday, September 6th, 2005 at 12:00am CDT by 5ed15806

Company: Verizon Phone, DSL & Direct TV packages - Rip off

Category: Other

Verizon Phone, DSL & Direct TV packages - Rip off

September 5, 2005

On August 13th, 2005 I ordered the following from Verizon: 1) Two phone lines (908) 387-0668 & (908) 387-8698 to be switched from AT&T to Verizon. 2) DSL on phone line (908) 387-8698. 3) Direct TV (four rooms).

The order # is C8CT184 for the Phone Services & DSL and 109796467 for the Direct TV. All equipment was supposed to be free. There was only a one time charge of $19.95 for the handling and shipping of the DSL equipment and another $19.95 for the Direct TV. The monthly charges were $106.82 for the first three months and $126.82 thereafter. The monthly charges excluded only taxes and Verizon was to bill me once every month.

Direct TV debited my checking account $169.95 without informing me and I never authorized them. Verizon was the one supposed to take out only $19.95 as per the agreement of the order to cover the handling of Direct TV installation. Direct TV was installed on August 24th, 2005. Verizon switched only one line (908) 387-0668 on August 18th, 2005. They did not switch this line (908) 387-8698. On August 24th, 2005 Verizon called me the DSL was ready on line (908) 387-0668. I told them that the DSL is supposed to be on line (908) 387-8698 but they told me this line does not have a Verizon dial tone. I called the business office why they did not switched the other line and they told me I do not need a second. After a while they agreed to bring this line from AT&T to Verizon and install DSL on this line (908) 387-8698. As of September 5th, 2005 they have not made the DSL ready on this line and I am not sure if it is with Verizon or AT&T. On August 29th, 2005 I received a bill from Direct TV. The charges were for the period of 08/13/05 to 09/13/05 and also they are charged me an extra $21.96. They are charging me for the three rooms at $4.99 each and also an extra $6.99. Verizon told me the Direct TV would $35.00 a month for all the four rooms. Also I am not supposed to have a bill from Direct TV so I do not know why they are billing me. I have called Verizon and emailed them but they rude and they keep on transferring me to different numbers and sometimes they hang up.

Verizon Phone numbers:- (800) 427-9977 & (877) 483-5898 Email address:- COMPLAINTS.COM_FORM_MAIL_74801# Please help!!!!

Click this link to e-mail the message author: COMPLAINTS.COM_FORM_MAIL_58932#


2 Comments

92ac0c46, 2009-01-09, 12:05PM CST

I agree totally with this statement i also have the package deal with verizon and direct, and it has been nothing but a hassel since i have had it ..My bill has never been what i was quoted and they also told me they can get in my bank account..i think this is hidious that they are doing this to people. i spoke to 6 different prople yesterday and each one told me a different story now i am stuck with a 290.00 bill..it's outragious, something need's be done

4a43410e, 2009-08-23, 03:39AM CDT

I too have had issues with Verizon but I am more fortunate than the previous complaintant. Twice I have scheduled installation and twice they have failed to show up at all after I waited four hours for them. When I call they either apologize and want to reschedule or they have disconnected me!

Post a Comment