Capital One - Capital One Auto Finance - Collections Payments Research

Posted on Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 at 12:00am CDT by cd52711b

Product: Auto Finance

Company: Capital One

Category: Business, Finances

On Saturday morning, October 16, 2004, about 9:00 a.m. I received a phone call from an idiot in your collections department by the name of Robert Mendoza. I’m not sure if the spelling is correct because he did not want to even give me his name at all and certainly would not spell it for me. Nonetheless, I have to say that by far this is the rudest person I have ever dealt with before. First of all he called to tell me that Capital One had not received a payment for the month of September 2004. NOT TRUE! Had the insensitive jerk looked at all of the information prior to calling me he would have seen that payment had been made. In September either on the 20th or 21st I contacted your office to see what I could for my September payment. I didn't have the money to cover the full payment as a result of Hurricane Ivan. My husband missed an entire week of work because of this which in turn caused us to fall behind on many bills last month. I explained all of this to the lady I was speaking with and she set up Capital One to draft half of September’s payment plus the late fee from my checking account on September 24, 2004. On October 1, 2004, my bank account shows a draft of $256.38 which went to Capital One. The lady with your office said it was okay to do this as long as by October 23rd I paid a full $742.32 which is October’s payment plus the rest of September’s payment. The whole purpose for idiot Mr. Mendoza’s call was to hassle me about not sending in a payment for September when in fact I had. Not only did I send the payment but it was set up with Capital One. I explained to him about that phone call I had with your office in September and twice he put me on hold for quite a while and both times he came back to me he stated that the records did not indicate that Capital One had received any payment regarding September’s note. After being on the phone with this man for 30 minutes he finally put me on hold AGAIN and when he came back the last time he stated that “okay I do show that we set up a payment by check with you on September 24, 2004 for $256.38.” PLEASE EXPLAIN TO ME WHAT RIGHT HE HAD TO HARASS ME AS HE DID. Had he done his job there would have been no reason to contact me at all because he would have seen that the payment was made and the remaining balance is not due until October 23rd. This man needs to be reprimanded for his rude and harassing behavior with me on the phone. I was very upset when I hung up with him. It actually took a 35 minute phone call with this idiot for him to realize that I was being honest and did not owe Capital One what he thought, but once again had Mr. Mendoza done his job properly in the first place there would have been no phone call. I am pregnant and not in good health and I do NOT appreciate this man harassing me and upsetting me as he did. He called for nothing. When I hung up with him my blood pressure shot through the roof. That I know for a fact because there is a registered nurse who happens to live next door. My husband called her to check on me after my conversation with Mr. Mendoza because I was so upset about the phone call from him. People like that should work somewhere that deals with NO public. He is very rude, unprofessional and does not represent your company well at all! I work for one of the biggest legal firms in the New Orleans area and have strongly thought about pressing charges against your company because of the harassing phone call/conversation I was forced to have with your employee. If I ever receive a call from Mr. Mendoza or someone as ugly as him again there will be a lawsuit involved. No person has a right to harass you like he did to me. I explained to him that my husband and I are not trashy people and we do not just decide that we don’t want to pay something. I knew we were short on cash because of the hurricane and I did the right thing and called Capital One, explained the situation to them and worked it out last month. Then all of a sudden almost a month later I get a harassing phone call from someone in your office. I would appreciate this situation being handled and I do believe Mr. Mendoza needs to be spoken to and explained to about the laws regarding harassment. He also should not be so secretive about giving his name to customers. This leads someone to believe that perhaps he is not calling from Capital One. He was not very helpful at all. I am so regretful that I have to deal with Capital One. I wish there was something that I could do, but unfortunately I am stuck. I just hope there are not too many people employed by Capital One with his unprofessional attitude. If it is necessary to send you a copy of my bank statement please contact me and I will fax you the proof that payment was made. Thank You, Christie H.


5 Comments

Post a Comment

75dbe5a4, 2008-02-25, 08:25AM CST

I TOO HAVE HAD THE MISFORTUNE OF HAVING MY AUTO FINANCED BY CAPITAL ONE. THE COMPLAINTS THAT I HAVE READ EACH DEAL WITH UNETHICAL COLLECTION PRACTICES.

THE KIDS THAT HARRASS YOU OVER THE PHONE KNOW NOTHING ABOUT ARRANGEMENTS THAT WERE MADE WITH CAPITAL ONE. THE PROBLEM IS CAPITAL ONE. IF CAPITAL ONE CARED ABOUT YOUR ARRANGEMENTS, THEY WOULD KEEP THEIR KID COLLECTORS UPDATE WITH ALL INFO ON AN ACCOUNT.

I HAVE HAD AS MANY AS 7 CALLS IN 10 MINUTES. AND EACH ONE WILL TELL YOU UNTIL PAYMENT IS RECEIVED THE CALLS WILL CONTINUE....SO ARRANGEMENTS MEAN NOTHING.

TODAY I GOT ONE OF THE KIDS ON THE PHONE THAT FELT SHE NEEDED TO ASK ME "JUST WHY ARE YOU BEHIND" SO I GAVE HER AN ANSWER....SO WHAT..SHE HAS A ANSWER (LAUGH OUT LOUD) SHE JUST NEEDED TO FEEL IN CONTROL AND TO EXERCISE HER ABILITY TO TALK - SO NOTHING I SAID CLICKS WITH THIS KID...MAINLY BECAUSE OF THE SCRIPTED PROCEDURE...AND THE MISSION TO "GET MONEY" I BASICLY TOLD HER I COULD NOT TALK TO HER ANYMORE AND HUNG UP. I TOLD HER UP FRONT THE AMOUNT I WAS PAYING AND TRIED TO REFER HER TO THE NOTES EXPLAINNG WHY I AM RUNNING BEHIND - SHE ACTED LIKE I HAD SAID NOTHING (LOL)

CAPITAL ONE SENDS OUT AN UNUSUAL AMOUNT OF CREDIT CARD PREAPPOVAL NOTICE.....PEOPLE JUST NEED TO BEWARD...THIS COMPAY IS THE BOTTOM OF THE PIT.

I WOULD SAY THAT WHEN BUYING A CAR YOU NEED TO KNOW SOMETHING ABOUT THE COMPANY YOU ARE GETTING FINANCING WITH.

ALSO, CAPITAL ONE IS SMART ENOUGH TO NOT BREAK THE LAW...THEY EVEN HAVE KID COLLECTORS THAT THEY CAN BLAME PROBLEMS AND LEGAL ISSUES ON.

IF YOU HEAR OF A CLASS ACTION LET ME KNOW.

ee21e850, 2009-08-03, 01:38PM CDT

I need a respond about my van payment

because i cant afford $423.35 any longer But i can afford $250.00 a month So can we make this deal instead. so i can still have my van.

c6dec002, 2009-11-02, 07:00PM CST

I'm passing along the following and ask you do the same.

BEWARE OF CAPITAL ONE CREDIT CARDS & AUTO & HOME LOANS !!!!!

Quoting one angry customer below:

"There are over 61,000 complaints against CapitalOne credit card, if they pay me one million dollars for my protest, what are they going to do to the other 61,000 angry victims?"

Before you consider getting any loan from Capital One Finance, find out more about who you're letting in YOUR WALLET.

PLEASE READ WHAT OTHERS SAY ABOUT THEIR EXPERIENCES WHEN HAVING CAPITAL ONE AS THEIR LENDER.

http://www.capital1card.com/CapitalOne200110.htm

http://www.ripoffreport.com/Search/Capital+One.aspx ( There are Approximately 8,772 Reports Found at this site alone. )

These are just 2 of the HORROR STORIES that are posted online.

http://www.ripoffreport.com/Car-Financing/Capital-One-Finance/capital-one-finance-company-de-3dxxx.htm

http://www.ripoffreport.com/Credit-Debt-Services/Capital-One-CapitalO/capital-one-finance-charges-on-f4m8b.htm

Angry former customers took the time to post these so YOU don't fall into the TRAPS they did when doing business with CAPITAL ONE FINANCE.

Some reports suggest that once CAPITAL ONE is "in your wallet", CAPITAL ONE uses certain tactics to STAY THERE.

BEWARE! BEWARE! BEWARE! BEWARE! BEWARE! BEWARE! BEWARE!

Before you decide to do "any" business with CAPITAL ONE, here are a few places where you can find what others who are now FORMER customers thought about THEIR experiences with this company.

Capital One Finance Consumer Complaints And Lawsuits

http://twitter.com/Credit_Revolter

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=147624337924

http://www.imeem.com/groups/5pwqL8Kl,john-q-public-vs-capital-one-get-to-know-whos-really-in-your-wa/

http://www.angrycustomersagainstcreditorabuses.com/

http://www.ripoffreport.com/Search/Capital+One.aspx (There are Approximately 8,772 Reports Found at this site alone.)

http://www.capital1card.com/CapitalOne200110.htm

http://search.complaints.com/search?btnG=Search%2BComplaints.com&output=xml_no_dtd&sort=date%253AD%253AL%253Ad1&client=complaints&oe=UTF-8&ie=UTF-8&proxystylesheet=complaints&site=complaints&q=Capital+One+Finance&x=30&y=11

http://www.emediawire.com/releases/2009/08/prweb2751104.htm

http://www.prnewsnow.com/Public_Release/Consumer/Lawsuit_Filed_Against_Capital_One_Bank_Regarding_Increase_In_Credit_Card_Interest_Rates_288183.html

http://www.newstin.com/tag/us/139162733

If you wish to discuss this action or have any questions concerning this press release, please contact E. Adam Webb., Esq. by e-mail at contact @webbllc.com or by calling (770)444-9325. The case, styled Lemond v. Capital One Bank (USA), N.A., is pending in the United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia and has been assigned Case Number 1:09-CV-01582-RWS.

.............................................................................................................................................................................................................

Ex-Capital One CFO Settles Insider-Trading Charges

Law360, New York (November 20, 2006) -- The former chief financial officer of credit card issuer Capital One Financial Corp. will pay $1.8 million and accept a five-year ban on serving as an officer or director of a public company to settle insider-trading and fraud charges, the Securities and Exchange Commission said on Monday.

The commission??s complaint, which was filed with the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia in July 2004, charged David Willey with insider trading.

The former chief financial officer of credit card issuer Capital One Financial Corp. will pay $1.8 million and accept a five-year ban on serving as an officer or director of a public company to settle insider-trading and fraud charges, the Securities and Exchange Commission said.

.............................................................................................................................................................................................................

Lawsuits Against Creditors Reach Record Levels

Aug 19, 2009 ... Kelly on Lawsuits Against Creditors Reach Record Levels ... mean that the illegal practices of collection agencies are finally being taken to task. ... Capital One violated Texas law and that of the Federal reserve bank.

http://www.creditinfocenter.com/.../lawsuits-against-creditors-reach-record-levelsy/

.............................................................................................................................................................................................................

http://www.accessmylibrary.com/coms2/summary_0286-23547210_ITM

CAPITAL ONE SETTLES AGE-DISCRIMINATION LAWSUIT.(Capital One Financial Corp.)(Brief Article)

June 13, 2003 | COPYRIGHT 2003 SourceMedia, Inc. This material is published under license from the publisher through the Gale Group, Farmington Hills, Michigan. All inquiries regarding rights should be directed to the Gale Group.

Capital One Financial Corp. announced this afternoon that it has settled an age-discrimination lawsuit brought by a group of its former employees, but the McLean, VA-based issuer and the other parties involved declined to disclose the settlement's terms. "We are pleased to have resolved this case on a mutually beneficial basis," a Capital One spokesperson said in a statement.

.............................................................................................................................................................................................................

Ex-Capital One employee files whistleblower lawsuit

Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:08pm EDT

NEW YORK (Reuters) - A former underwriter who says she was forced to resign after blowing the whistle on fraud at Capital One Financial Corp's (COF.N) subprime mortgage unit filed a $51 million lawsuit against her former employer on Thursday.

According to the suit filed in U.S. District Court in Manhattan, Rachel Steinmetz said she was forced into an "involuntary resignation" by her superiors in retaliation for refusing "to approve fraudulent, unlawful and bad loans" and reporting the activities to her superiors and authorities.

Capital One did not immediately return a call seeking comment.

Steinmetz had worked as a senior underwriter at GreenPoint Mortgage before its December 2006 acquisition by Capital One, according to the lawsuit.

She claims she was forced by superiors to approve loans that contained fraudulent information and that her bosses waited until she was out of the office to approve loans that she had denied.

In June 2006, she said she was forced to resign after her employers made her work environment intolerable.

Steinmetz reported her concerns about illegal activity to the New York State Banking Department and accused her former employer of violating Sarbanes-Oxley and banking "whistleblower" protections by forcing her to resign, according to the lawsuit.

Capital One shuttered GreenPoint Mortgage last August in the midst of the subprime mortgage crisis. It had acquired the unit less than a year earlier as part of its $13.2 billion deal for North Fork Bancorp Inc.

Steinmetz is seeking compensation for lost wages, bonuses and benefits of no less than $1 million and punitive damages of at least $50 million, plus interest and costs, according to the suit.

(Reporting by Emily Chasan and Bill Berkrot; editing by Jeffrey Benkoe)

.............................................................................................................................................................................................................

Finkelstein, Thompson and Loughran Files Class Action Lawsuit Against Capital One Financial Corp.

WASHINGTON, Aug. 8 /PRNewswire/ -- On August 5, 2002, Finkelstein,

Thompson & Loughran filed a securities fraud class action lawsuit in the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia, on behalf

of purchasers of the securities of Capital One Financial Corporation ("Capital

One" or the "Company") (NYSE: COF) (http://finance.yahoo.com/q?s=cof&d=t)

between January 15, 2002 and July 16, 2002, inclusive (the "Class Period").

The complaint alleges that defendants violated Sections 10(b) and 20(a) of

the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and SEC Rule 10b-5, by issuing a series

of materially false and misleading statements relating to the nature of

Capital One's business operations, which caused Capital One's stock price to

become artificially inflated.

During the Class Period, Capital One announced that each quarter resulted

in record revenues and earnings and that the Company was well-capitalized and

had attained an excellent credit performance. However, the complaint alleges

that these reports were materially false and misleading because Capital One

omitted that, in breach of regulatory guidelines released on January 31, 2001,

it had been under-reserving for subprime loans and was undergoing severe

infrastructure inadequacies, with respect to its credit-risk assessment and

the Company's information system.

When it was revealed that federal regulators had instructed the Company to

increase its loan loss reserves and improve the technology that Capital One

uses to provide loans and credit cards to subprime consumers, the price of

Capital One common stock plunged, declining 39% from a close of $50.60 per

share on July 16, 2002, to close at $30.48 per share on July 17, 2002.

Plaintiff seeks to recover damages on behalf of all those who purchased or

otherwise acquired Capital One securities during the Class Period and is

represented by the law firm of Finkelstein, Thompson & Loughran, of

Washington, DC. Finkelstein, Thompson & Loughran has over thirty years of

securities litigation experience, has broad experience in representing

defrauded investors in shareholder class actions, and has been appointed to

lead positions in many such actions in federal and state courts throughout the

United States.

If you bought or otherwise acquired securities of Capital One between

January 15, 2002 and July 16, 2002, you may request that the Court appoint you

as lead plaintiff. A lead plaintiff is a person who acts on behalf of other

class members in directing the litigation. Any member of the proposed class

who wishes to move the Court to serve as lead plaintiff must do so no later

than September 17, 2002. In order to serve as lead plaintiff, you must meet

certain legal requirements. If you have any questions concerning this notice

or your rights or interests, please contact Conor R. Crowley or Donald J.

Enright with Finkelstein, Thompson & Loughran, at 202-337-8000, or by e-mail

at crc AT ftllaw.com or dje AT ftllaw.com.

...........................................................................................................................................................................................................

Ex-Capital One employee files whistleblower lawsuit for $51,000,000

Posted on August 21, 2008 by bankingwhistleblower

Thu Jun 12, 2008 5:49pm EDT

NEW YORK, June 12 (Reuters) ?? A former underwriter who says she was forced to resign after blowing the whistle on fraud at Capital One Financial Corp??s (COF.N: Quote, Profile, Research, Stock Buzz) subprime mortgage unit filed a $51 million lawsuit against her former employer on Thursday.

According to the suit filed in U.S. District Court in Manhattan, Rachel Steinmetz said she was forced into an ??involuntary resignation?? by her superiors in retaliation for refusing ??to approve fraudulent, unlawful and bad loans?? and reporting the activities to her superiors and authorities.

Capital One did not immediately return a call seeking comment.

Steinmetz had worked as a senior underwriter at GreenPoint Mortgage before its December 2006 acquisition by Capital One, according to the lawsuit.

She claims she was forced by superiors to approve loans that contained fraudulent information and that her bosses waited until she was out of the office to approve loans that she had denied.

In June 2006, she said she was forced to resign after her employers made her work environment intolerable.

Steinmetz reported her concerns about illegal activity to the New York State Banking Department and accused her former employer of violating Sarbanes-Oxley and banking ??whistleblower?? protections by forcing her to resign, according to the lawsuit.

Capital One shuttered GreenPoint Mortgage last August in the midst of the subprime mortgage crisis. It had acquired the unit less than a year earlier as part of its $13.2 billion deal for North Fork Bancorp Inc.

Steinmetz is seeking compensation for lost wages, bonuses and benefits of no less than $1 million and punitive damages of at least $50 million, plus interest and costs, according to the suit. (Reporting by Emily Chasan and Bill Berkrot; editing by Jeffrey Benkoe).

.............................................................................................................................................................................................................

These are only a few of the problems CAPITAL ONE FINANCE and it's partners are reluctant to share with it's potential customer base. When you Google LAWSUITS AGAINST CAPITAL ONE FINANCE about 1,950,000 lawsuit sites against Capital One Finance pop up.

People need to know just who is "in their wallets" and the tactics they have used in their attempts to STAY THERE. HELP ME GET THE WORD OUT.

Convince your family and friends to view this article and do some research before doing any business with these people.

EVERYONE NEEDS TO SEE FOR THEMSELVES WHAT TO EXPECT FROM CAPITAL ONE BEFORE ALLOWING THEM "IN YOUR WALLETS" .

They may even thank you that you did.

Ex-Capital One employee files whistleblower lawsuit for $51,000,000

Posted on August 21, 2008 by bankingwhistleblower

Thu Jun 12, 2008 5:49pm EDT

NEW YORK, June 12 (Reuters) ?? A former underwriter who says she was forced to resign after blowing the whistle on fraud at Capital One Financial Corp??s (COF.N: Quote, Profile, Research, Stock Buzz) subprime mortgage unit filed a $51 million lawsuit against her former employer on Thursday.

According to the suit filed in U.S. District Court in Manhattan, Rachel Steinmetz said she was forced into an ??involuntary resignation?? by her superiors in retaliation for refusing ??to approve fraudulent, unlawful and bad loans?? and reporting the activities to her superiors and authorities.

Capital One did not immediately return a call seeking comment.

Steinmetz had worked as a senior underwriter at GreenPoint Mortgage before its December 2006 acquisition by Capital One, according to the lawsuit.

She claims she was forced by superiors to approve loans that contained fraudulent information and that her bosses waited until she was out of the office to approve loans that she had denied.

In June 2006, she said she was forced to resign after her employers made her work environment intolerable.

Steinmetz reported her concerns about illegal activity to the New York State Banking Department and accused her former employer of violating Sarbanes-Oxley and banking ??whistleblower?? protections by forcing her to resign, according to the lawsuit.

Capital One shuttered GreenPoint Mortgage last August in the midst of the subprime mortgage crisis. It had acquired the unit less than a year earlier as part of its $13.2 billion deal for North Fork Bancorp Inc.

Steinmetz is seeking compensation for lost wages, bonuses and benefits of no less than $1 million and punitive damages of at least $50 million, plus interest and costs, according to the suit. (Reporting by Emily Chasan and Bill Berkrot; editing by Jeffrey Benkoe).

Attachments (0)

Attach a file:

Comments (1)

_displayNameOrEmail_ - _time_ - Remove

_text_

Jeffery Allen - Sep 18, 2009 12:13 PM - Remove

Follow this at http://twitter.com/Credit_Revolter, or feel free to join in the discussion at http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=147624337924 and http://www.imeem.com/groups/5pwqL8Kl,john-q-public-vs-capital-one-get-to-know-whos-really-in-your-wa/ .

And please, SHARE THIS WITH ANYONE CONSIDERING TO APPLY FOR FINANCING WITH THIS COMPANY!!! Trust me, you'll be doing them a favor.

1973ebc4, 2009-12-18, 04:26PM CST

I purchased a car for 17000.00 and totalled the car, I had paid 6000.00 in payments and the insurance paid over 13000.00 and the gap insurance had paid over 8000.00 and my extended warranty issued them my warranty check. they received over 27,800.oo and they wanted 2200. after calling numerous times they finally stated it was paid in full, however, they have begun calling me asking for 1600. yet would settle for 500. I have tried to get this account settled and am extremely tired of the run around. I honestly believe they have received their money and then some. However, because they have not closed the account, they are still charging me.

b4f9227a, 2010-05-13, 06:59PM CDT

i have a car loan through capital one and this is my last year to pay off my vehicle and i am paying more than the car payment and they are still charging me interest on the loan. i thought the interest was paid off a year or two ago. my car loan is only supposed to be forr 60 months and now they are upping it to 67 months? how can they do that and get away with it? how do i file a lawsuit?

Post a Comment