iboats - boat cover wont fit. will not refund

Posted on Wednesday, November 20th, 2013 at 1:00pm CST by john w.

Product: iboats.com

Company: iboats

Location: 170 Election Road Suite 100
DRAPER, UT, 84020, US

URL: www.iboats.com

Category: Cars, Motorcycles, Boats, Vehicles

when i received the cover and got it partially out of the box, i noticed right away it wouldnt fit. i contacted iboats via 'live' chat and they said to put it on anyways because the manufacturer said it is the right one. a couple days later i was able to put it on and i was right. it did not fit. where the seams are, they dont line up with the rails and cusion deck. i contacted them again and i got the same thing even after sending a couple pictures, they cannot find anything wrong. they said i dont have it stretched far enough. the picture i sent shows the seem not lining up with the cushion deck and its pulled tightly length wise. i had asked for a refund at that point. they sent me an email (below):

We want to make your return process as simple and timely as possible. To help us do this, please follow the steps below to complete your return:

1) Make certain your cover/bimini is returned in CLEAN, new, and resalable condition.

2) Place the product back in the original packaging.

3) Write the Return Authorization Number (RA#) clearly on the OUTSIDE of the shipping box.

The RA# for your returning product is: 558301

4) Ship the returning product(s) with a shipping service that provides a tracking system (i.e. UPS,

FedEx, USPS) to:

Return Receiving Department

212 N. Lyles Ave.

Landrum, SC 29356

United States

5) Once you have shipped the item(s) back, please respond directly to this email with the tracking number provided. This insures your return arrives at our warehouse.

Once the returned item(s) has been inspected by our Returns Receiving Department, credit will be automatically issued to the credit card your order was originally placed with; you will then receive an email to notify you of the credit.

For additional information on the returns process, go to iboats.com/returns.

i did all this and sent it back for $30.00 out of my pocket. when they received it they said it was not new or re-saleable and sent me some bogus pictures and stated they are sending it back to me. i laid this thing out in my garage and cleaned it before i returned it. i sent them the picture with it laid out and replied i will be expecting my refund shortly. that was yesterday 11-19-2013 at 2056 central time. as of this writing 11-20-2013 1259 central i have not heard anything from them.

for some reason i was suspicious when i first had to talk to their support and they said 'put it on anyways'

____________________________________

update: 11/21/2013 1203 central no response from company after reporting here, ftc and paypal

____________________________________

update: 11/22/2013 1023 central no response from company after reporting here, ftc and paypal

____________________________________

Update: 11/22/2013 got a response from iboats.com. they sent the useless cover back to me and are keeping my cash.

_____________________________________

____________________________________


3 Comments

Post a Comment

Business Reply  ee550e6c, 2013-12-18, 11:24PM CST

Our Apology-

We sincerely regret the experience you had with your boat cover purchase. It is terribly frustrating to order a product in good faith only to discover what you ordered does not accommodate the need. We make every effort possible to provide a fair solution in these kinds of situations, regardless of where the fault resides.

As you are aware, we worked with the manufacturer and an understanding was reached, the decision was made to allow the cover to be returned at the manufacturers expense and a full credit was issued on 11/27/2013.

We appreciate you taking the time to document your experience. We are a better company today because of it.

ee550e6c, 2013-12-10, 02:36PM CST

Our Apology-

We sincerely regret the experience you had with your boat cover purchase. It is terribly frustrating to order a product in good faith only to discover what you ordered does not accommodate the need. We make every effort possible to provide a fair solution in these kinds of situations, regardless of where the fault resides.

As you are aware, we worked with the manufacturer and an understanding was reached, the decision was made to allow the cover to be returned at the manufacturers expense and a full credit was issued on 11/27/2013.

We appreciate you taking the time to document your experience. We are a better company today because of it.

john w., 2013-12-10, 08:48PM CST

I had contacted the manufacturer not iboats. iboats sent it back with no further communications..i would never do business with them again. your comment makes it sound like iboats did it all :(

Post a Comment