Foley Municipal Airport - Excessive Noise Generated by LIGHTNING AVIATION

Posted on Wednesday, November 20th, 2013 at 9:32am CST by 4e2ef341

Product: Lightning Aviation

Company: Foley Municipal Airport

Location: PO Box 1750 Foley, Al 36535
FOLEY, AL, 36535, US

URL: www.cityoffoley.org

Category: Airlines

Since lightening Aviation came to Foley, the Municipal Airport has become a down-right nuisance to the area. They have at least 4 planes, and at least 3 of them are in the air for up 12 hours a day - 7 day a week. These planes make a touch and go landing and are making a "lap" approximately every seven minutes. As a result of this, there is an almost constant noise.

I've resided in the Foley area for over 15 years, and it's never been this noisy.

This Airport was fine in 1962, but now, it needs to be retired and/or relocated to give the residents in the area some peace and quite!

However, the City Government seems more interested in treating this airport like a commercial business and is therefore not concerned at all with the impact of this noise on the surrounding community. The 100 acres this airport sits on can be better utilized than what it's being used for.


54 Comments

Post a Comment

0794bf5c, 2013-11-29, 06:19AM CST

I agree something needs to be done about this airport. When the Navy gave it to Foley in 1962, there was nothing but woods surrounding the area, but fifty years later, there's nothing but houses. What does Foley Alabama need an airport for? THEY DON'T! They are abusing the privilege and the residents of Baldwin County are suffering for it! These planes are not flying over Foley at all except to land! Most of the noise is generated at take-off, which is just about always to the north. If Foley wants an airport, they need to relocate it to a less populated area!

07260167, 2014-02-28, 05:07PM CST

First let me start off by saying that I live less than a mile from the airport and hear the aircraft going over all the time, its a none issue. If your one of the people that purchased home at the north end of the runway, then as it was pointed out the airport was given to the city in 1962, then you knew first hand that there was a airport and airplanes use the airport so you should known there was going to be some noise. The direction of takeoff is dictated by the wind direction, I believe it was to the south today and during the summer months is almost always to the south. As for what Baldwin county gets out of it, well lets start off with tax money, every aircraft owner pays tax every year on their aircraft, there's tax paid when they purchase fuel, there are people that are employed at the airport and pay taxes. Lightening Aviation prepares Navy flight students to become Naval Aviators (more tax money). The FAA gives money to the city for maintaining the airport which means work for city/county residents and revenue for the city and county.. Air ambulances use the airport to transporting seriously ill patients, I could go on and on, but the airport is plus for the community. Oh and by the way, the Navy is expanding Baron Field and Summerdale Field, so if you don't like general aviation aircraft, your really going to hate the Navy and their turbine aircraft thats going to be transiting the area.

ea91908e, 2014-03-04, 10:02AM CST

This is an FYI pertaining to most small airports, but let's use Foley Alabama as an example.

Everything stated here can be confirmed and verified. Who is actually benefitting from the Foley Municipal Airport's existence? The city? Baldwin county? True, every aircraft owner pays taxes every year. Fuel tax, parking/storage, maintenance, etc, and it's all city, county and state taxes. Everybody benefits right? Let's start with YOU, the american taxpayer and let's work our way up the ladder. YOU pay federal income taxes. Part of YOUR tax money funds the Federal Aviation Administration. The FAA gives the city of Foley money to pay for improvements to the airport, etc (Remember, YOU are paying for this). True, the Navy is paying flight schools such as Lightning Aviation (there are 5 schools in the Pensacola area. Foley is 1) to give 25 hours of flight training to "SNP's". Part of YOUR tax money funds the US Navy. The Navy pays civilian flight schools, etc (Remember, YOU are paying for this). Hospitals, such as the Baldwin Regional Medical Center has a Helicopter landing pad for air ambulances. So, the question was, who is actually benefitting from this airport? The city of Foley and Lightening Aviation are the only two, as YOU are paying to keep this airport in operation. How can this airport be good for the community if YOU are paying for it?

52ae03c6, 2014-03-04, 09:51PM CST

If you reside in the Belmont development, on Oak Hill drive, Sawyer Heights of Baldwin County, do you hear that? PEACE AND QUITE!!! However, it will be short lived because when you drive past the airport, you'll notice work is underway at Foley's gold mine! There's signs posted at each end of the runway that reads "YOUR TAX MONEY AT WORK!"

07260167, 2014-03-05, 10:34AM CST

Well for you information, the work being done is mandated by the FAA for safety, the city had to do it. Yep, my tax dollars at work to pay for the Naval aviators, no problem with that or paying for other things you mentioned. Point of interest on the Navy schools, its 10 hrs of flight flight time, also I doubt that UAB's Citation Jet could land on the hospital helo pad and I'm about 100% sure that if it was a loved one of yours or you for that matter that needed to be quickly airlifted to an advance care hospital, you would jump on it in a heartbeat. Now since you have also pointed out taxes, I wonder if your willing to pay the city the difference in lost revenue for say all the rent that would be lost on the hangars, the rent runs from $2200 to $3400 a year for the 30 units. A small price to pay for your peace I guess.. I guess you shouldn't have bought a home by a airport, something about airplanes and airports that go together, duh.. You knew what you were getting when you bought there, but like a lot of people you expect everyone to do bow to your whims now. What are you going to do when the Navy opens up Summerdale and expands Baron, you can expect the Navy to start shooting approaches into Foley, so now besides those pesky GA aircraft, your going to have Navy turbine aircraft coming over, how much sympathy do you think you'll get from the Navy and if you didn't know it, this whole area is in a Military Operating Area, so prepare for it.. Who benefits from the airport, all of the residents of Foley and the county do. Jobs are created and taxes paid that benefits everyone including you, but I know thats a mute subject with you. But all things said, one thing you might check on, when the federal government turns a airport over to a city, the city must operate the airport in perpetuity and the said city cannot singularly close it without the feds approval.. I would imagine that what this will come down to is economics, how much money does the city and county bring in from airport operations compared to how much taxes you and the others that are complaining pay.

0efb9406, 2014-03-05, 10:18PM CST

A friend told me to check this complaint out, and I can't believe this crap! After checking some of this out, I found the only thing these people are primarily complaining about is the noise that started when this flight school came to town. All they wanted was for the city to do something. Concerning the tax money being spent on this airport, hell, part of a $300,000.00 grant from the FAA is being spent on it right now, this week! I don't even live in Foley Alabama and I'm pissed because it's my tax money too! I noticed something else about these people complaining about this airport. Picture this in your minds......a relatively small group of people are in charge and are trying to cram something down your throats. You keep saying "No, we don't want this", but they keep saying "we don't care, we know what's best for you!" Does this "sound" familiar? That how we got OBAMA CARE! "Sounds" just like what's happening in Foley Alabama with the city counsel and that airport, don't it?

4e2ef341, 2014-03-13, 01:07AM CDT

07260167, you come across like a real prick. If you're having problems going to sleep, you count the number of people you've screwed over during the day. The FAA may mandate airport repairs, etc, but if the city is earning so much money from hanger rentals plus, then how do you qualify for federal assistance in the form of a grant? Maybe I can build a runway in my backyard and get a $300,000.00 grant! And yes by-god, it's tax money! As for navy pilot training, it really does not matter if it is a 10 hour course or 100. The fact remains that this program is funded by...once again by-god, it's tax money. It should also be noted that there are several studies out that state this program is basically a waste of...yes by-god, tax money. The long awaited navy turbo training can't possibly be any worse than the pilots that are already doing the snoopy and red baron chase over south Baldwin County every day of the week. FYI: Foley already owned this airport, the Federal Government did not give it to Foley. Check your facts! Why would Foley Alabama want to even consider closing a "gold mine" like this airport? You do not have to close it. This airport will make you the same amount of money without any type of flight school. Have you considered how many businesses could be in operation on this airport property? How many jobs could there be then? More businesses=more jobs=more taxes to the city and county! That's what it's all about isn't it, economics? $100,000.00 salaries and such! What about extending a couple of developments and then selling the land as lots. Parcels of land=money+more houses=more jobs=more residents=more taxes. After all, it's all about economics isn't it? I guess everyone that's complaining about the noise should have bought a house on W 3rd Ave, or on Amazon Dr. What do you think? In reference to economics, remember there's only two things you can be sure of. Death and taxes!

07260167, 2014-03-13, 07:44AM CDT

A prick, maybe some of the people that have worked for me over the years would agree with you (because I made them work and not screw around), but then I didn't care about how they or you for that matter feel about me. Bottom line is if you buy a home around a airport, there are going to be airplanes that make use it. BTW the FAA mandated that the city make the changes to the runway, not something the city wanted to do. Why not just close ALL commercial airports and military training bases and save taxes. Maybe the US can sub flight training out to the Russian Air Force or better yet make the military pilots pay for it themselves.

But I like your other idea, just move.. I hear that homes out in Gleanlakes are going to go real cheap in the future.. For most people around the airport noise is not a problem, so the whining about to much noise is like 2 jackasses fighting over a turnip, who cares..

52ae03c6, 2014-04-02, 09:50AM CDT

The '07260167' person must be a politician since they expertly change what this 'James S.' is trying to get across and make it seem he's a total idiot. Last time I checked, the Navy IFS program is a 25 hour course provided by civilian flight schools and paid for by the Navy. It is designed to "cull" out the students that will be more prone to either flunk out or quit regular Navy flight school. Studies have shown this IFS program to NOT BE COST EFFECTIVE, as the rate of flunk outs/quitting, etc have not decreased. As 'James S.' pointed out, this program is paid for with tax money, and it is another drain on the american tax payer. Since the Navy has both enlisted and contracted flight instructors that regularly train Navy and Marine pilots, I can't envision the USA Government having to hire the Russians to train our pilots nor have the military pilots pay for their training. 'James S.' original complaint was against the City of Foley Alabama because the Mayor, City Counsel and County Commissioners have placed monetary value over the welfare of the citizens of Baldwin County that reside in the area. This can be confirmed by reading the comments posted by '07260167'.

0794bf5c, 2014-08-01, 05:54AM CDT

The city of Foley can't seem to be able to purchase toilet paper without getting a grant of some sort to help pay for it, but all they need to do is transfer $22,000.00 from one account to another to pay for resurfacing a road at the airport.

b3f897f4, 2014-08-04, 09:44PM CDT

Dude, you need to change your approach concerning this city and it's airport if you want something done about it. Did you know Alabama is one of the 10 most corrupt states? Yes, it is ranked #6 out of 10! Considering that, what are the odds that the elected officials of the city of Foley and of Baldwin County are contributors to that corruption? Therefore, you need to change your tactics and go for the jugular! Maybe then, you'll get the results you seek. Whatever you do, DO NOT reveal yourself to these people because if you do, you're done for!

07260167, 2014-08-05, 06:11PM CDT

The city doesn't have anything to do with the Navy pilot training, thats done by bid.. The Airport road extension was to reduce heavy trucks from going through town to United Tech. and I'm pretty sure that it was fed money that paid for it because UT wanted it.. Also the airport improvements are mostly paid for by FAA grants..

0794bf5c, 2014-08-30, 12:57PM CDT

WHEREAS, there is a need to pave the access road to the south T-Hangars at the Foley Municipal Airport due to washouts that occur during heavy rain events, and, WHEREAS, there is $22,000 available in Account 01-613-4010 that would be sufficient to complete this project.

07260167, 2014-08-30, 07:48PM CDT

Hey instead of whining on here, why don't you go to the city council meeting and express your displeasure or run for mayor so you can run the city.

4e2ef341, 2014-10-16, 09:07AM CDT

Whining? All we're trying to do is snap it off! We think we will! What do you think will happen if we were to come before the city council after posting these complaints? Run for Mayor? Run the City? As crooked as most politicians are in Alabama (after all, you should know), I'm sure I can do better!

Lucy D., 2014-11-06, 09:48AM CST

The noise of these planes is constant over the GlenLakes area. Not only is it a constant noise, but they are flying way too low. There are thousands of empty acres in foley, why not fly over them? I called Roger at the airport and the town hall to complain. I have lived here for two years and am just now voicing my complaint. Enough is enough. Why are they flying over houses, several miles south of the airport and not over empty acres in Foley? I will go to a council meeting to bring it up. My instincts tell me this is not necessary, just fly over empty acres, why not?

Lucy D., 2014-11-06, 10:46AM CST

I just had a conversation with Roger at the airport here in Foley. He was very informative as to the reasons the planes practice where/how. It helped me understand a lot. I still do not appreciate the noise, but young people who are learning to fly, especially our Marines and Navy future pilots, need our support. It helped me a lot to accept the situation.

Lucy D., 2014-11-06, 10:47AM CST

I just had a conversation with Roger at the airport here in Foley. He was very informative as to the reasons the planes practice where/how. It helped me understand a lot. I still do not appreciate the noise, but young people who are learning to fly, especially our Marines and Navy future pilots, need our support. It helped me a lot to accept the situation.

b3f897f4, 2014-11-11, 06:15PM CST

1) I don't see how the planes from the Foley Alabama Municipal Airport can be effecting the residents of the Glenlakes area. The planes you're hearing are military trainers that are either using Barin field AND/OR for some unexplainable reason can't find any other location on the entire planet to practice Maneuvers except in Alabama near Foley. Either way, the military planes are flying in from other states and are using this area to practice dive bombings and touch and go landings.

2) Roger Watkins is not training future Navy and Marine pilots. He's "introducing them to flight training" (Navy IFS program...Google it!). Another example of your tax money at work!

3) This complaint is against the City of Foley Alabama and against Lightening Aviation. I've lived in this area for 15 years and didn't have a problem until 2011 when the City Council, signed a 5 year contract with Roger Watkins to manage the airport. He moved right on in and brought his flying circus with him and it's been a noisy hell ever since.

4) If these planes are a nuisance, it doesn't matter what they are here for. You don't have to "put up with it!"

5) Try complaining to the FAA. To our Representative, and to our Congressman, etc. The more complaints, the better. FYI: You're wasting your time complaining to Roger, to the Town Hall or to our County Commissioner because they JUST DON'T CARE!

6) Also,if you want to get the city council's attention, start waving a dollar bill as you go through the door of city hall. If anything will get their attention, that will!

ea91908e, 2014-11-21, 10:22AM CST

If John Konair, Wayne Trawick, Vera Kuaites, Ralph Hellmich, Charles Ebert and Mike Thompson resided near the airport they're so fond of, it would not be there. Plain and simple! The same applies to the Baldwin County Commission! If Roger Watkins actually had to listen to the noise his planes are generating in Foley Alabama, he would either move his business elsewhere or put some mufflers on them! Of course, he resides in Mobile, so he doesn't care either!

Lucy D., 2014-11-22, 06:53AM CST

The loudest planes are the military from Barin. The other day we had guests golfing here and the entire round was noisy due to the planes. Over four hours and they were still flying as we finished. One person told me they wouldn't golf here again, too noisy. Next day, red military planes back,all day right over GlenLakes. One mile due north of Barin is open field, why are they not practicing there? I called the town hall and they said to call Pensacola Naval Station. Taking time to do that is fine, but will it make any difference? Some days I am ready to move from this neighborhood as others have done. Suggestions on what to do about this are welcomed! Foley is a cute town, but way too noisy. Next time I buy a home, I will know to ask if there is a military air field and /or airport within ten miles. Wish I knew that before I spent hundreds of thousands of dollars!

4e2ef341, 2014-11-22, 10:16AM CST

Once again, this complaint is against the City of Foley Alabama, which owns Foley Municipal Airport and against Lightening Aviation.....not Barin Field. Barin field is owned and operated by the US Navy. Calling "the town Hall" will not get you help. Of course, "The town hall" could possible help you if it chose to do so, but that will never happen. The Mayor and City Council are only interested in how much money YOU spend in Foley! Otherwise, YOU and YOUR complaints just don't matter.

This is an example why: (from: 07260167, 2014-03-13, 07:44AM CDT); "I hear that homes out in Gleanlakes are going to go real cheap in the future.. For most people around the airport noise is not a problem, so the whining about to much noise is like 2 jackasses fighting over a turnip, who cares..

07260167 is a city official/employee......Once again, "the town hall" will not help you/us.

BARIN FIELD...Citizens of Glenlakes band together and contact Bradley Byrne, Trip Pittman, Your County Commissioner IE: Charles Gruber. Complain to the FAA. Complain to the EPA (contact: Catrice Jefferson < [email protected] >)

Contact the news media, etc. File a complaint against the US Navy, etc.

07260167, 2014-11-23, 08:56AM CST

Nope not a city, county or state employee, just someone that lives out by the airport and in the traffic pattern. You all should have started complaining a couple of years ago when the Navy laid out its plans for the aux fields like Baron and the Summerdale fields. The extension on the runways has been going on for a while and will be going into full blown operation in the near future. And by the way, you will start seeing Navy turboprops start shooting approaches into Foley to, so if you think Mr. Watkins planes are noisy, just wait. Prices out in Glenlakes will drop not because of the Navy, but the noise and traffic for the Blue collar comedy complex and sportsplex thats going up out there, at least thats what I'm told by people I know that live out there..

Lucy D., 2014-11-23, 09:27AM CST

We hear just the opposites about house values. We are close to projected Blue Collar, but traffic has no advantage by coming to the development. Rt 20 traffic will stop when it gets to FoleyExpress-no need to come into the development, just like Rt. 59 traffic does not bother us at all. It may actually help prices, It all depends on the real estate market. Many people like to be close to the action of athletic fields, concerts, restaurants, etc. I am looking forward to it. I just don't like the overhead noise and will pursue action via PNS and state legislatures. I will hopefully get support of the neighborhood.

ea91908e, 2014-11-23, 03:53PM CST

This problem could be worked out using the Common Core method, however, there is not enough available space to do that. So to solve it using the old fashioned method is this....NO AIRPORT = NO ROGER WATKINS = NO NAVY TURBOPROPS. As you can see, a very simple, very easy solution to this problem.

Lucy D., 2014-11-24, 08:07AM CST

The easiest solution is to just have the planes fly over the open fields, NOT a neighborhood with many houses. Foley has thousands of open acres north, west and east of Foley Express. Can we cut through the bologna and just answer this question? Roger, if you read this, what say you? I can understand take off and landing issues, but the constant circling over GlenLakes is not necessary. Barin is another issue, I realize, but what is our town govt there for if not to help the tax papers? Why not do the 4-5 hour circling over the open fields?I do not believe that the wind direction is different within a radius of 3 or 4 miles. In other words, if conditions are good to practice over GlenLakes, then they are good over the open fields within a mile or two.

I will be bothering the mayor about this, I want others to be as aggravated as I am. Town officials have more power than us, and if they don't try to help, we need to keep bothering them about it. Has anyone ever talked directly with the Foley mayor about this?

f8fe3eb3, 2014-11-26, 06:04PM CST

Oh wow, after reading all of these complaints I'm completly dumbfounded. I have lived in and around this area most of my life, 53 years and the one thing I do know is if you live anywhere along the gulf coast, you live near or under a traffic pattern. From Corpus Cristie to Tampa there is a great deal of military, general and training aviation. I currently live under the traffic pattern at Jack Edwards and I knew it was there before I was, so I dont complain. The old saying comes to mind "buyer beware" did you really believe a growing city like Foley wouldn't at some time grow their airport? Thats a little short sigted on your part, dont you think? Why is it people move down here and want what they had back in ________ norther city? Why are you complaing to the city, dont you think the developer would be a tad bit more cupable. No, no we cant blame them because then we have to look at ourselves. As far as the mayor, city council and Mike Thompson, they are all good people who only have the best in mind for the city. They are all honorable men and woman, yall are fortunate to have them because you certainly dont deserve them. I could go on about how we are and have become a society of complainers but I'm tired of this silly thread. I will leave you though with a positive thought. Aviation noise is the sound of a thriving economy and freedom.

DWC

Lucy D., 2014-11-27, 07:23AM CST

You obviously do not have planes flying over over just your area all day several days in a row. And you are right about the builder and also the sales agent, of course they did not mention it and I did not know to ask. I thought a golf course would be quiet. If you golfed, you would know that. Again, it is called empathy when you can feel for someone when you are not going through it. This probably is not your bisuness because it is not affecting you and you clearly do not care about what other people are feeling. I am not asking the military to completely stop as I fully understand the need for our brave, young military to be properly trained. God bless them! BUT, many hours in one day over the same neighborhood when there are open fields one mile away is not necessary. If you understood my complaints, you would know that I am simply asking for an explanation as to why they cannot go somewhere else and rotate the noise. How about you volunteer for them to fly low over your house all day? Then I will listen to you. Until then, maybe you need to not be involved in this.

Lucy D., 2014-11-27, 07:30AM CST

One more thing. Foley is a great little town and I do admire the mayor and others that keep it clean, safe and interesting. That does not mean I can't have an opinion about the noise over GlenLakes. Both can be true and if we are adult about it, we can discuss it without animosity. Today is Thanksgiving and it is a day to give thanks, you are right, So let's give thanks for all we have. Nothing in life is perfect, so a complaint about noise seems trivial. But again, when it is over your house for 6 hours, it gets annoying. That is what I am saying. And if there is a way to make it better for everyone, why not address it?

f8fe3eb3, 2014-11-27, 09:33AM CST

Sorry, Lucy you must have missed where I stated I live directly under the traffic pattern of Jack Edwards. As you may know JKA is a 24 hr a day airport with the Navy and Coast Guard always doing touch and goes or night ops training. I do understand your noise complaint I also live on the canal with constant barge and boat traffic also very noisy, esspecially at 3am. All that being said, all I am trying to point out is where you live is actually not to bad. I guess it really is a matter of prospective. People move down here all the time and dont really do their due diligence, Foley is a great small city that is trying to catch up with alli of the growth over the last twenty years. The Navy has been at Barin Field and Foley, since 1919 and it was rural farms then, I really dont think they are the ones who have to comport to the new people that have moved in, IMHO. You are right I dont have a lot of empathy for these complaints but as also previously stated I have been around all of my 52 years. To me is just white noise that helps me sleep and improves my golf game, silence is creepy to me, welcome to the gulf coast.

I'm not trying to be mean or callus, I am truly not, I work in Foley and have high regards for the city elders. Some of my comments in my original missive were probably not directed at you. I was addressing the "corruption" allegations unfairly thrown at the city administrator, mayor and council. Anyway I hope you have a quiet, Happy Thanksgiving, sincerely.

DWC

Lucy D., 2014-11-27, 10:20AM CST

It is quiet, today, thank you! I appreciated your message. This is probably not the forum for this, but I thank you! I will try to think about the plane drone as white noise. As I get older, my hearing is getting better, thought it would be the opposite!

Have a happy Thangsgiving and Christmas!

b3f897f4, 2014-11-27, 04:46PM CST

Concerning the "corruption" allegations, the exact wording was: "Did you know Alabama is one of the 10 most corrupt states? Yes, it is ranked #6 out of 10! Considering that, what are the odds that the elected officials of the city of Foley and of Baldwin County are contributors to that corruption?". Alabama is ranked 6 out of the 10 most corrupt states. THEY are politicians, so what are the odds?

Lucy D., 2014-12-01, 12:06PM CST

Does anyone know how to get schedule of training planes out of Barin? We have friends who don't want to come here if they are flying all day. Can't hear yourself think, can't enjoy outdoors for over 6 hours. Can a civilian go to the airport to get info? Please understand, this is not a pleasant drone of a plane overhead, this is constant take off/landing for over 6 hours. Has anyone ever complained effectively to a govt agency (yes, I am seriously asking that question). I have called several numbers and contacted emails given on the Barin website to no avail. All I want is information.

Lucy D., 2014-12-02, 07:38AM CST

FYI, I started a noise complaint page for Barin Field on this website. Also, FYI, we received a call yesterday from a master commander regarding our concern for the 6 hr take/off landing practices that occur for several days in a row. He told us that he is addressing the situation with the airfield as he has received several other complaints.

90e13155, 2014-12-04, 10:34PM CST

As of today, I have lost all respect for the Aviation Branch of the United States military . It's one thing to have to tolerate the inconsiderate bastards that operate the local airport here in Foley Alabama, but for the citizens of this area to be subjected to what comes down to an act of aggression on the part of the military is just beyond words...This all started with the usual noise of small planes, then the jets came into the area. After that, the turboprops started flying around. At first, I assumed they were doing dive bombing maneuvers, but then I looked up...These planes were doing loops! That's when I got my camcorder out and started recording. This went on all day! A plane would fly in from the north, make a loop then fly toward the south, make a loop then fly back to the north end of Foley and do the same thing. This was repeated several time, then the plane would fly off toward the north. A few minutes later, another plane came and did the same thing! Tomorrow morning several citizens will be ready with camcorders if this happens again, and I'm going to be uploading the video I recorded today to every website I can think of and will also be sending a copy to every congressman and Senator in Washington to inform them of what our military is doing and how American Citizens are being treated!

Lucy D., 2014-12-05, 05:35AM CST

I have felt the same way about the planes and have spoken with town officials who are also working with Randy Roy out if Whiting Field in Milton. They did move a little north of GlenLakes yesterday, but my question to Randy is to please find out why they are not looping over open fields in Foley. I feel as though they are circling over my neighborhood on purpose, maybe because I complained loudly? I think I am getting paranoid! Anyway, I know our military men and women have to train, God bless them, but there is a way to make everyone satisfied. There is a complaint site for Barin field on complaints.com so you could put your concerns there, too. I will get Randy Roy contact number and post it. He did encourage the taxpayers who are being unecessarily bothered by excessive noise and planes looping and flying way too low. I,too, have video of them right over my house and have forwarded it to the town officials. I realize,they cannot dictate to Barin Field, but they are willing to address the situation so that is good. The military is wonderful, but so are the taxpayers that pay them! Let's get this resolved and hope that Barin Field officials work with the taxpayers.

Lucy D., 2014-12-05, 05:38AM CST

Just saw your comment on the Barin Field complaints.com. Good.

Lucy D., 2014-12-05, 05:39AM CST

Just saw your comment on the Barin Field complaints.com. Good.

Lucy D., 2014-12-05, 06:08AM CST

Everyone who is disturbed by the planes directly over your neighborhood please call Randy Roy for complaints about Barin Field. His is the liaison at Whiting Field in Milton. His telephone number is 850-665-6132. For those in District 1, Foley, city council rep is Wayne Trawick. Another helpful town official is Mike Thompson who is addressing the issue. I do understand that the town cannot dictate to the military. However, we, the taxpayers PAY the military and we also deserve respect as does our brave military troops. It is usually the admin, not the troops, that can be somewhat testy. This isn't rocket science, folks, this is a problem that can quickly be resolved.

90e13155, 2014-12-05, 08:47AM CST

RE: Lucy D... You're probably not being paranoid concerning the planes over your neighborhood. I've heard other people state that when they've complained about noise from military trainers, it got worst, not better! Maybe someone can actually help!

f8fe3eb3, 2014-12-05, 09:36AM CST

I have been giving your problems some thought. Since Barin Field has been a trng field since 1919, your complaints, rightly so probably will not resonate with anybody but your neighbors. However that being said, perhaps you may have a class action lawsuit againt the developer, builders and realestate companies! They are the ones that convinced you to buy a pig in a poke, under an active training field. The navy is not in the business of targeting our elderly for harassment, please dont give in to that insanely paranoid thought process.

f8fe3eb3, 2014-12-05, 09:38AM CST

I have been giving your problems some thought. Since Barin Field has been a trng field since 1919, your complaints, rightly so probably will not resonate with anybody but your neighbors. However that being said, perhaps you may have a class action lawsuit againt the developer, builders and realestate companies! They are the ones that convinced you to buy a pig in a poke, under an active training field. The navy is not in the business of targeting our elderly for harassment, please dont give in to that insanely paranoid thought process.

f8fe3eb3, 2014-12-05, 09:39AM CST

I have been giving your problems some thought. Since Barin Field has been a trng field since 1919, your complaints, rightly so probably will not resonate with anybody but your neighbors. However that being said, perhaps you may have a class action lawsuit againt the developer, builders and realestate companies! They are the ones that convinced you to buy a pig in a poke, under an active training field. The navy is not in the business of targeting our elderly for harassment, please dont give in to that insanely paranoid thought process.

4e2ef341, 2014-12-06, 05:48PM CST

Barin Field did not exist in 1919! The Foley Municipal Airport was constructed in 1933/1934. In 1942, the Navy leased the airport (aka Barin West) and also purchased acreage and then constructed Barin East. Then both fields were commissioned together as NAAS Barin Field.

http://www.airfields-freeman.com/AL/Airfields_AL_Mobile.htm#Barin

http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/facility/barin.htm

http://topics.al.com/tag/Barin%20Field/index.html

In 1776, we Americans earned the right to complain about getting screwed over. That's how the United States of America got started! We did something about it then, and we need to do something about it now!

0794bf5c, 2014-12-08, 07:44AM CST

Here we go again! 7:25 am Monday morning in Foley Alabama... Starting another week of the annoying drone of small planes flying over our houses! The people that think Foley can't live without this airport needs to be hearing this noise and feeling this aggravation like the rest of us!

Lucy D., 2014-12-08, 12:18PM CST

Could you also post your complaint on the Barin Field complaint page. we have located the minutes to a meeting held a few years ago that assured planes would not fly below Rt 20. We working with Mike Thompson of Foley City Hall and Randy

Roy, liaison from Whiting Field, to stop planes over the houses which is unbearable and very stressful.. You can call Randy at 850 665 6132 to voice your concern. I also have video of planes ALL DAY, LOW, CIRCLING FOR HOURS DIRECTLY OVER OUR HOUSES WHERE THEY ARE NOT SUPPOSE TO FLY. We now have proof that they agreed not to do this so they have to stop. Again, why not just stop flying below rt 20 as agree. Why the resistance and all this back and forth about it? Please stop wasting time and money.

ea91908e, 2014-12-09, 08:48AM CST

Here we go again! They started at 7:40 this morning and it's been none stop since! YES, we do need to contact Randy Roy concerning the Foley Municipal airport noise problem. If it wasn't for the Navy, Companies like Lightening Aviation wouldn't be in Foley, and there would not be a noise problem!

0794bf5c, 2014-12-10, 10:31AM CST

Wednesday morning in Foley Alabama. I keep hearing the drone of small planes flying over my head!

90e13155, 2014-12-10, 09:59PM CST

What the hell is this, a "Dear Diary" post? By god, my head is still buzzing from these aspholes flying almost non-stop the past 3 days! On top of the bastards from Lightening Aviation, there were the damned Military planes coming into the area and doing loops...YES LOOPS! No wonder the government is screwed up! Of course lets not forget the asphole in the red and white stunt plane doing his crap right over my house today! I recorded all this! 8 hours of droning, ear aching, aggravating noise. I intend to post it so everyone can hear what it sounds like in Foley Alabama, so they will know what to expect. That is, if they decide to visit after hearing the noise!

4e2ef341, 2014-12-11, 08:56AM CST

RE: 90e13155.... There is a reason for what we do. You beat your drum to your tempo and we will do the same with ours. FYI: It started at 7:35 this morning from Lightening Aviation and around 8:00 with the military planes!

52ae03c6, 2014-12-11, 06:11PM CST

Does anyone think the Feds are aware of the fact that most of the new Navy pilot trainees are here in the Pensacola area? Also, does anyone think there is a terrorist group that could be targeting the airports in the area that provide training the the Navy pilot trainees? If this were to happen, it would knock out most of the next generation of Navy pilots.

b3f897f4, 2014-12-11, 11:47PM CST

If they weren't, they probably are now. They would probably consider the loss an acceptable number since the trainees are only students!

52ae03c6, 2014-12-13, 09:55AM CST

Foley Alabama: It's a start to another noisy weekend! Lightening Aviation keeps starting earlier and earlier every day! They started before 7:30 today. Tomorrow is Sunday, what time will it start then?

Things might be different if these people would change the routine once in a while, instead of sticking to the same old predictable crap!

Lucy D., 2014-12-14, 08:00AM CST

We are all hoping for a resolution to this, we need a break from the direct, overhead, low circling. Please do not forget to call Randy Roy (# above) and your town rep for help.

They are addressing this issue as we read this. I hope we can find relief. Again, this is not to disparage our own brave soldiers, but simply to get some relief from the all day, every day, overhead circling. Can we all pitch in and build them a new airfield far away? Any billionaires out there?

Keep the faith!

Also, we should lodge complaints at the Barin Field comment board on this website.

Post a Comment