Roommates.com - Roommates.com scam

Posted on Thursday, June 17th, 2010 at 2:01pm CDT by 2ca4e424

Company: Roommates.com

Location: Scottsdale, AZ, US

URL: http://www.roommates.com/

Category: Other

I signed up for roommates.com and received matches from people that were not matches. I sent roommails through the site to prospective roommates. I received no response. I did receive a response from an ashley green trying to scam money out of me claing to be moving from the Dominica Republic. Here is the following email:

Hello Thanks so much for the mail. I really do appreciate the breakdown details of the house ( apt. ) . I'll be so glad if you can reserve the room for me and remove the advert from AD as i'll love to rent the place and will really love to have a view of the place soon as you have it and also more info . as you have promised hopeully in your next email ,okay I am a kind, inquisitive, eager, prudent and very sociable girl ,I am calm, sensible, good-tempered woman with a good sense of humor. I love life but I lack a strong and loving man with whom I will be glad to share my life. Life is great only when happy days are for two of us. I love spending time with my friends out of town, cooking, planting flowers I am dreaming of traveling with my loving man. Thanks for your attention. I have serious intentions, I am looking for a life-partner to live in happiness till the rest of our lives. And I want to contact with only a man, who has serious intentions too and looks for a life-partner,People who know me think that I am a good wife which any man will be proud of and have everything in me to make man happy, a gift to any man. Men told me I am beautiful, charming and sweet

Age: 30yrs plus Height: 5'5" (175 cm) Weight: 108 lbs (50 kg)Physique: Moderate Body Style: Average Activity Level: Active Hair: Blonde Hair Length: lil Long Eye Color: Grey Smoking: No Drinking: Occasionally Marital Status: Single Children: None Religion: Christianity Languages I speak: English Ethnicity: Native-American Piercings: Ears Only Tattoos: None Education: MCSA/MCSEOccupation: Sales Reps.

Grew up in: Hickory Nc and i am currently in Dominica Republic ,But will be Okay if you can tell me more about the place and you.More about me again ,As you know that its my riads that someone has lots of interested men in here but its my choice to choose one,the one my heart goes for,someone i can lean on,to give me the love i have always wanted to have.So tell me about yourself,what you do and everything you need to tell me about yourself...and lets see how it goes from here.But anyway,Here`s a little info about me I like to go out to dinner, go dancing, go to the movies, workout, travel, see new things. I enjoy the simple things like the ocean, cuddling at home watching a movie with someone special, I`m a extremely romantic, passionate and affectionate woman.

I feel i let you know more about me,my personality,interests and hobbies.

Personality: I am an open minded person,trustworthy,cool,loving,caring,understanding,down to earth.I been straight and want same in return cos i wont treat people the way i don't want to be treated.As you know that Greatness lies in Simplicity,don't you think so? Interests and hobbies:i like playing squash,listening to music,like traveling,dining out,love attending live jazz concerts.I like reading poetry,novels,arts and crafts.My favorites are:Thai food,French toast and red wine,favorite actor:Angelina Jolie,Fav color:Yellow.

The things i will be moving in are as follow; DVD Home theatre my clothes in two luggages my laptop computer (hp) and pieces of furnitures.

Kindly let me know a lil more about you... as i will like to know if you will prefer to be paid by certified bank check or United state postal money order....

Green

I attempted to get a refund and they have failed to refund my account. I was unable to make any communications with anyone period. I only had the service for 2 days and am completely unsatasfied with their conduct and service. They did not even offer to downgrade my account to a three day trial fo $5.99

Here is a series of emails that proves this site is nothing more than a scam!

---------- Forwarded message ----------

From: Chris

Date: Thu, Jun 17, 2010 at 1:12 PM

Subject: Fwd: [Ticket: 865814] |6969526|I'm not satisfied with Roommates.com

---------- Forwarded message ----------

From: <[email protected]>

Date: Thu, Jun 17, 2010 at 12:32 PM

Subject: Re: [Ticket: 865814] |6969526|I'm not satisfied with Roommates.com

Chris,

Thank you for the information and for using Roommates.com. If you have

any further questions, please feel free to contact me.

LeVar

Roommates.com Support

[----Please keep response above this line----]

---[Received 2010-06-17 10:30:02]---

Subject: Re: [Ticket: 865814] |6969526|I'm not satisfied with Roommates.com

I am sure you are not doing enough. I will be reporting my findings

about your company and the unwillingness to refund a dissatasfied

customer who paid for the membership and received absolutely no leads

whatso ever. This type of service is a fraud and I believe there may

be a crime being committed.

Please be advised... I work for a Consumer Advocacy firm that

investigates customer complaints and reports the findings. Thank you

for your unwillingness to satasfy a paying customer. This concludes

my investigation at this time. Please contact me if you have any

further questions regarding this investigation. Your investigation

case number is Q2010R0278

On Thu, Jun 17, 2010 at 12:13 PM, wrote:

> Chris,

>

> Thank you for your comments. We here at Roommates.com value the input we

> receive from all of our members.

>

> We are doing all we can to stop the scammers, who haven't reduced the number

> of legitimate users. Additionally, we have implemented several new security

> features we believe will reduce the amount of scamming activity on the site.

>

> If you have any further comments or questions, please feel free to contact

> me.

>

> LeVar

> Roommates.com Support

>

>

>

>

Chris,

Thank you for your comments. We here at Roommates.com value the input

we receive from all of our members.

We are doing all we can to stop the scammers, who haven't reduced the

number of legitimate users. Additionally, we have implemented several

new security features we believe will reduce the amount of scamming

activity on the site.

If you have any further comments or questions, please feel free to contact me.

LeVar

Roommates.com Support

[----Please keep response above this line----]

---[Received 2010-06-17 10:10:04]---

Subject: Re: [Ticket: 865814] |6969526|I'm not satisfied with Roommates.com

So, basically you are telling me you are a paid craigslist. Wow!

What a terrible service. I will be sure to send this to all of the

media outlets. You are not denying that fraud is being committed by

you company and its employees as well. This 19.99 was well spent to

find out just what type of service your paying customers are receiving

or will receive. I would expect your customer base to decrease once

this gets out to the public. Thank you for your time.

Chris

On Thu, Jun 17, 2010 at 11:48 AM, wrote:

> Chris,

>

> Roommates.com will not be issuing a refund at this time. Per our Terms of

> Service, you expressly understand and agree that we make no warranty this

> service will meet your requirements or that the quality of any products,

> services, information, or other material purchased or obtained by you

> through the service will meet your expectations.

>

> We here at Roommates.com are a bulletin board service. As stated in our

> terms of service, we do not screen any members who post to our site, nor do

> we guarantee the legitimacy of any person or information posted. There are

> several screening services available on the internet. You may want to invest

> in one of those options before welcoming a roommate into your home.

>

> If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me.

>

> LeVar

> Roommates.com Support

>

>

>

>

Chris,

Roommates.com will not be issuing a refund at this time. Per our Terms

of Service, you expressly understand and agree that we make no

warranty this service will meet your requirements or that the quality

of any products, services, information, or other material purchased or

obtained by you through the service will meet your expectations.

We here at Roommates.com are a bulletin board service. As stated in

our terms of service, we do not screen any members who post to our

site, nor do we guarantee the legitimacy of any person or information

posted. There are several screening services available on the

internet. You may want to invest in one of those options before

welcoming a roommate into your home.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me.

LeVar

Roommates.com Support

[----Please keep response above this line----]

---[Received 2010-06-17 09:40:02]---

Subject: Re: [Ticket: 865814] |6969526|I'm not satisfied with Roommates.com

To Mike Peters, Vice President of Business Development,

I would strongly advise that you refund my money. I think the whole

model of having to pay to read mail is bad. I can send mail to people

and have no idea if people are serious. I know in fact that people

are lyining or it is being staged by your company. People saying they

will pay more than 2000 dollars to be a roommate just does not add up.

I will use the internet to the fullest extent to ensure people are

fully aware of the fraud happening right under their eyes. I will

contact the bbb and other fraud alert sites. This service is a

complete fraud. Please credit my account and consider changing your

policy so that people cant list for free. People using your site need

to have some assurance that the people listing on your site are in

fact serious. In doing this you will only gain more customers. If

everyone pays then everyone has an equal stake in the game. I would

have to say at least 75% of the people on here are a fraud and I have

also seen people posting their phone numbers along with the phrase "I

do not want toi pay for a membership so call me". I think if the

service actually works then why would people not pay. Your business

model needs some refining, however you have the opportunity to be the

primary source of finding great roommates. Currently I would have to

say you are just a 1/2 a step better than craigslist and I am not

even sure I would go that far.

Sincerely,

Chris

On Thu, Jun 17, 2010 at 11:05 AM, wrote:

> Chris,

>

> Our refund policy is 24 hours so unfortunately that isn't available. A free

> membership is given beforehand so that you can preview the level of response

> your profile receives, and customer assistance is available if you have any

> problems using the site.

>

> Please let me know if I can be of further assistance,

>

> LeVar

> Roommates.com Support

>

>

>

>

Chris,

Our refund policy is 24 hours so unfortunately that isn't available. A

free membership is given beforehand so that you can preview the level

of response your profile receives, and customer assistance is

available if you have any problems using the site.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance,

LeVar

Roommates.com Support

[----Please keep response above this line----]

---[Received 2010-06-16 21:45:02]---

Subject: |6969526|I'm not satisfied with Roommates.com

I would like a full refund. I have been unable to communicate with

anyone. I roommailed people and no response whatsoever. Please refund

my account.

Thank you

Chris


0 Comments

Post a Comment