Tata indicom - Incorporation of necessary changes in billing software to provide correct log to the cstomer

Posted on Friday, August 15th, 2008 at 3:14am CDT by a2ad3f49

Product: Tata Indicom Plug to surf

Company: Tata indicom

Location: IN

Category: Other

From : UDAI PRATAP SINGH

MOBILE NO. +919428007372

VADODARA, INDIA

Incorporation of necessary changes in billing software to provide correct log to the cstomer

Indicom no. 9227483094 with account no. 90031648

Copy to : [email protected]; nodalofficer.gujarat; nodalofficer.corp; AppellateAuthority.gujarat; AppellateAuthority.corporate Anne.Puthawala, PAMELA.DESOUZA; suroor.hussain; csmumbai ; [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]

Dear Navin Bhasin,

I am writing exclusively to you as you were the only person who replied in right spirit my representation to TataIndicom. I am enclosing last bill which I received today i.e. August 13 which in no way indicates how much I had used your internet nd how much I could have used more within the same amount. I had stopped using internet since July 26th as I had received a call on July 26th that my bill is Rs 1832.00, though the bill was Rs. 0 as I had not exceeded my limit of free usage and hence the bill clearly reflects it is only rental part only of Rs. 1011.24 along with the rental rebate of Rs.337.08 and excess payment of Rs. 83.00 in the earlier month.

It no way reflects as how much more I could have used your internet facility within the same amount of Rs. 1011.24 and I was given a wrong information again that my bill is of Rs. 1832,00. This you can confirm from your office for which i am repeatedly writing and fighting with Tata Indicom. So Tata Indicom has befooled me thrice within a span of 3 months association. I hope you will look into this matter seriously and come back to me.

Hoping for a reply

Regards

Udai Pratap Singh

Dated 12.8.2008 ,7:26 PM Reply received from Mr. Navin Bhasin,

Dear Mr. Udai Singh,

I do not understand your reasons for leaving but considering the delays from our end in providing a satisfactory reply, the decision is perhaps justified.

I can assure you one thing that the Billing, in all probability, is accurate. From your perspective, as I understand, the problem is lack of information on a continuous basis to optimize the usage. Our appreciation was that the Modem log, though indicative, does provide a strong correlation to the actual Billing. But then to the best of my knowledge no other operator can also do so.

At this stage I can think of one solution. If this is converted to prepaid then it is possible to get regular feedback for the usage and the balance at any time. Just a thought.

Regards,

Naveen Bhasin

Dear Mr. Naveen Bhasin Dated 11.08.2008

COO,Gujarat Circle

Thanks a lot for writing me back with true picture and current status and acknowledging the problem. But I received your letter two days late as I had already parted ways with Tata Indicom two days earlier in a disgusted state as I was not receiving any replies from anywhere though I was writing to so many top executives, including you. However I expect that I will hear from Tata indicom after it has incorporated the changes in its Billing and Monitoring software for which I was making an effort so that the future customers of Tata Indicom do not suffer like me. That will give me a satisfaction that I raised a valid point and have helped Tata Indicom to improve its services

Regards

Dated 10.8.2008 Reply received from Mr. Navin Bhasin,

Dear Mr. Udai Singh,

Last week I had reviewed your case and understood the issue between the discrepancy in the modem log and the Billing details. Ideally there should be no discrepancy.

Prima facie, as I understand that the modem log is not accurate, as it provides only indicative usage but the Billing system is accurate. The rationale for this belief is that the Billing systems are being audited and monitored through the Billing and Monitoring audit conducted by the TRAI, every year.

Notwithstanding, we are verifying this again. We are also taking up the issue with the Modem manufacturers to ensure alignment.

Regards,

Naveen Bhasin

COO, Gujarat Circle

Complaint #: 180953 posted at Complaints.com on 9.8.2008

Reminder 4: 09.08.2008 : No acknowledgement of my letter dated 21.07.2008 and the reminder sent on 25.7.2008 by any of the above mentioned email recipients as to what Tata teleservices is planning to undertake. I may please be informed immediately.

In a disgusted state of affairs from Tata Indicom side I cancelled my Internet connection vide cancellation no. 131777905 dated 8.8.2008.

In cancellation also there is infringement of customer rights as the individual has to pay 7 days extra charge in my case it comes out to Rs. 210.00 even after cancellation.

So I paid to Tata Indicom the following charges in my 3 month connection

May 2008 : Rs. 1800.00, Rs. 80 approx. later,June 2008: Rs. 1080.00.approx. July : 2917, Aug Bill will be around 1850 Rs. as informed telephonically. So total Rs. Paid 7727.00 so approx. more than Rs. 2500 p.m. with several days of non use. So you can imagine the plight of mine as a customer.

Even during cancellation Mr. Mohsin Hakim Jiwala harassed me for 20 minutes and they were not ready to cancel my dongle. Same was the situation with Himesh Radyia from Ahmedabad on 8.8.2008. I told them go and ask your CMD. They were not ready to transfer the call to their supervisors even.

Reminder 3 :25.07.2008 : No acknowledgement of my letter dated 21.07.2008 and the reminder sent on 25.7.2008 by any of the above mentioned email recipients as to what Tata teleservices is planning to undertake. I may please be informed immediately.

Reminder2 :25.07.2008 : No acknowledgement of my letter dated 21.07.2008 by any of the above mentioned email recipients as to what Tata teleservices is planning to undertake. I may please be informed immediately.

1. Can I know the current month usage till date against my account so that I can regulate the bill of the next month.

2. Please find my previous complaint in the form of reminder as to what the company is planning to undertake. Please acknowledge my complaint and keep me informed.

21.07.2008 Dear Mr. Bhasker Sharma, Nodal Officer, Gujarat

Atlast happy to hear from you;

? Why Tata Teleservices has to reiterate and emphasize that ??is reputed for its good business and ethical practices in the country??. Had this not true I would not have written so many times to Tata Teleservices.

? Seconed as accepted by you that the Internet log is written on the Customer??s PC/ Laptop and is strictly indicative, I still fail to understand as to why this facility was created by TATA INDICOM at all and for what purpose. What it indicates : ??Fooling a customer?? like it fooled me.

? I still re-iterate my point which remains unanswered :

Company is fully aware of the correct bill and usage amount, why the same is not passed on to the customer so that he can regulate his usage as per the bill for the period of bill cycle. What is the problem with the Company if it has the state of art network equipments?

? Also withdraw the present system of writing the log on Customer??s PC/laptop and then taking the shelter of ??Disclaimer clause?? and saying the logs are strictly indicative.

? You have claimed ??Further, we have already communicated in our earlier mails that we have a robust billing system in place and no changes are to be made in our software. Billing in your system has been found correct.

We are an organization committed to our customers with the objective of making the association a memorable and mutually rewarding one. Assuring you the best of our services at all times.??

This is not true as you are not ready to accept that it requires changes in your software and at the same time you are not ready to provide the correct log to the customer.

? I once again emphasize not providing correct log to the customer regarding its usage is against the principle of natural justice and violative of customers right and also it comes under monopolies and restrictive trade practices.

? I hope you will agree to my suggestion and incorporate the necessary changes in your software and inform me.

21.07.2008 : Reply From Nodal Officer Greetings from Tata Indicom!

This is with reference to your e-mail dated July 18, 2008 regarding your Tata Indicom number 900316481.

We value your association with Tata Indicom.

You are a privileged member of Tata Teleservices, which is reputed for its good business and ethical practices in the country.

We deeply apologize for the inconvenience experienced by you.

? Sir the Internet log is written on Customer's PC/Laptop and is strictly indicative.

? As communicated earlier, Internet log will give only approximate usage of Data and time and it is strictly indicative.

? Sir please find the details of calls made to you on your alt no as below. Company is fully aware about the sensitivity of the Customer. You are valued customer of Tata Teleservices Ltd. and we value your relationship with us.

o 23rd June: Call made at 4.32 p.m. (Informed that 1.5 GB is over and usage above it would be charged as per 0.40 ps also Chargeable amt was 36 over rentals)

o 25th June: Attempt made but Call was unanswered Time: 2.52 p.m. Total Chargeable Rs.880

o 30th June: Call made at 2.19 p.m. (Informed chargeable amt: Rs.1600)

o 2nd July: Attempt made but call was unanswered Time: 2.21 p.m. Chargeable amt: Rs.2292

Further, we have already communicated in our earlier mails that we have a robust billing system in place and no changes are to be made in our software. Billing in your system has been found correct.

We are an organization committed to our customers with the objective of making the association a memorable and mutually rewarding one. Assuring you the best of our services at all times. Thank you for your co-operation & understanding.

Warm Regards,Nodal Officer

18.07.2007: Dear Madam Pamela Desouza,

Thanks for replying atlast,

I still have few issues to be replied from Tata Indicom end

1. Is the Internet log written on Tata Indicom machine or customers pc/laptop ?

2. As you pointed to your safety clause of ??Disclaimer clause?? why is it that a company like Tata Indicom, provides a wrong log to the customer knowing fully well that those logs are wrong.

3. As per your statement it is clear that the Company is fully aware of the correct bill and usage amount, (as mentioned in my case the Co. was aware of my bill on 23rdJune, 25th June, 30th June, 2nd July 2008) why the same is not passed on to the customer so that he can regulate his usage as per the bill for the period of bill cycle. What is the problem with the Company if it has the state of art network equipments?

4. I may be told the correct way to regulate my bill as per the usage for the period of bill cycle.

5. However for your information I need to tell you the following

a) Could be that Dailer.exe is terminated through Task Manager by me.

b) There was no power failure in my case

c) There was no change in machine, the dongle was used on the same laptop during the period for which comparative analysis was made.

6. Still not convinced as to how the log that I am having differs from that of your??s and if at all it is to be different why should it be. It is against the principle of natural justice and right of correct information for a consumer.

7. By what time Tata Indicom will incorporate the necessary changes in its software so that the customer is not befooled as I was?

Regards

18.07.2007: From Pamela deSouza Office of Col. Naveen Bhasin - COO Gujarat

Please find the replies to your queries as below.

o With reference to the Internet Log feature, we clarify that it will give only approximate usage of Data and Time which is strictly indicative. The usage information might vary due to various external factors like ??

? If Dialer.exe is terminated through Task Manager on pc/laptop, then Internet logs will not be recorded.

? Internet Logs are machine specific. As machine changes, log also change.

? In case of power failure, log will not be written correctly.

o We have also mentioned in our Disclaimer clause that the readings in the dialer are only indicative. However, we reaffirm that our billing is purely on the readings of the billing system, which is a foolproof system and the billing in your case is found correct.

o We would like to assure you that these usage details are not used for your billing purpose and the billing is done as per the reports captured by our state- of- the art network equipments

o Credit limit is a monthly financial limit that not only keeps your costs in control but also helps to prevent unauthorized usage. On crossing the credit limit, we intimate customers by a call to make an interim payment. On crossing the credit limit assigned to you, services to the number may be barred on company's discretion, however services may be barred if payment is not received by due date even without crossing the 100% of the credit limit.

o Regarding your query, we would like to inform you that we had intimated you on 23rd June 2008 about the exposure of Rs.1047. We also tried to reach you on your mobile on 25th June 2008 when the outstanding on your mobile was Rs.1891 however the same was unanswered. Hence services to your Vdata Card were barred on 26th June 2008 to avoid further exposure. Services to your number were restored on 28th June 2008 post payment receipt of Rs.1000 against an exposure of Rs.1891.

o We had intimated you on 30th June 2008 about the exposure Rs. 1600 and also regarding applicable charges of Rs.0.40 after free usage of 1.5 GB . We also tried to reach you on 2nd July 2008 to inform the exposure of Rs.2292 however the phone was unanswered. Hence services to your VDATA Card were barred to avoid further exposure. The bill for your account generated on 11th July includes fixed rental of Rs900; which resulted in a total outstanding of Rs.2917 after the bill generated.

o We deeply regret the error in communication by customer care executive regarding Rs. 5792/- outstanding amount towards your VDATA Card, which was actually Rs.2292 as on 2nd July. We have initiated necessary corrections at our end to avoid such reoccurrence in future.

o We regret to inform you that bill run happens only once in a month on the bill date and hence will not be able to provide you intermediate bills.

We would like to assure you that our robust billing system is in place and there is no problem with your said bill.

You being our valued customer and as a special service gesture we are waving off 9 days rental amounting to Rs.300 for the period you were unable to use our services.

Assuring you best of our services always.

Thanking you,

Pamela deSouza

Office of Col. Naveen Bhasin - COO Gujarat

18.07.2008: Matter referred to Government of India, Department of Telecommunication, Ministry of Communication & I&T, 1205, PG&I Branch, Sanchar Bhawan, New Delhi: [email protected] .

18.07.2008: Received a telephonic call from Mr. Pankaj from Chandigarh informing me that he is going to provide rebate in rental for the period 3.7.2008 to 11.7.2008 in the next bill and whatever other grievance has been referred to the committee.

Reminder1 :18.07.2008 : I was told that a suitable reply will be made at the earliest after examining the case. So the entire Tata office takes more than a week to arrive at a suitable answer since I appealed to them. I have already a log to prove my point which I have already put forward. I once again appeal to refund my excess amount paid towards the bill of May and June. Also I expect that Tata will incorporate changes in their software so that the customer gets the correct log.

I request the appellate authorities as well to look into this case urgently.

18.07.2008 :A reminder of the Complaint also sent to Shri Ratan Tata

I am attaching the log duly provided by you, as well as the analysis of the log of mine (already sent to you) viz. ?? a ?? viz the log provided by you.

Let me put the issues in right perspectives again

1. Why the two log (Your??s and mine) do not tally. Why Tata Indicom is befooling the customers. If my log is wrong why it is providing this wrong log to the customer which is misleading. What steps Tata Indicom is going to take to correct this misleading information database.

2. Why my connection was not stopped in the month of June after I crossed the limit of Rs. 1700.00 (my allowable credit limit). Why was it stopped after I had reached a limit of Rs. 2917.00, this is also a misleading information of my credit limit. I suffered because of that.

3. Why I was not provided the exact bill to deposit i.e. Rs. 2917.00 on 3rd July itself and told wrongly of the bill amount of Rs. 5792.00 (I recollect correctly if) and made to suffer till 11th July when I was told the correct bill of Rs. 2917 which I immediately deposited the same day. I could not use the internet for 8 precious days (a part of the next bill to be precise besides my work).

4. I have made an analysis of the two log attached along with this. Kindly go through it and let me know your answer.

5. How does a customer know that Tata Indicom is charging rightly and the log that it provides is correct?

Analysis of the log and it appears at first instance that the log is not correct.

14.7.2008: Telephonic talk to Anne Puthawala from Chandigarh

She informed me that my detailed log is mailed to me and I reiterated the different issues to her

14.7.2008: Telephonic talk to Mr. Pankaj from Chandigarh with whom I had a talk earlier on 10.07.08

He told me the different nuances of the bill and I informed him about my view point. He tried to tell me when I was informed and the details of the bill etc. but my problem still remains the same. He even tried to give me a consolation that Tata Indicom is ready to give a discount of Rs. 500.00 which was refused by me flatly. My complaint is not limited only to the bill amount.

14.7.2008: Telephonic talk to Ranjana from Chandigarh

She spoke to at 10.15 to me and tried to tell again as to how the log will differ with that which I had. Then I told my view point and she promised to talk to me later.

14.7.2008: Complaint emailed to Mr. Bhasker Sharma, Nodal Officer, Gujarat

I have already lodged a complaint at most of the places of Tata Indicom including Appellette Authorities. I wanted to send you the copy of complaint to you as well as you are the nodal officer of Gujarat. Please find the updated complaint attached as annexure. It speaks of everything.

14.7.2008: Telephonic Talk with Madam from Chandigarh

Asked for Complaint details and promised to look into the matter. She tried to explain, that my log will differ from system log, as I might have not updated it from the website. I have never been told, or nowhere is it mentioned as to how to update the same from website. What are these logs which I have recorded and sent to you?

14.7.2008 : Customer Care Gujarat

This is with reference to your email dated July 11, 2008 regarding your TATA Indicom number 9227483094. We value your association with Tata Indicom and we would not like to lose your patronage. We sincerely regret for the delay in attending to your complaint and the inconvenience caused due to the same. As per mail regarding billing, we would like to inform that your complaint is already under process vide docket number 127433409. We shall confirm the status to you once the processing is complete. We look forward to a very warm and fruitful association with you. Thank you for your co-operation and understanding. Should you require any further assistance, you can call us at 121 or write at [email protected] Assuring you the best of our services at all times.

13.7.2008: 0030 Hrs: Matter Emailed to Shri Ratan Tata

I am a user of Tata Indicom internet usage and recently was billed in excess which I paid contrary to what the log shows. On enquiry I was told that the consumer log will always differ from system log. Question is how much in my case it differs by more than 300%. Kindly look into this matter, so that the customer is not fooled like me, in using the services of Tata Indicom.

12.7.2008: 1850 Hrs.: I had a talk with Madam Pooja from Ahmedabad and she clarified issues and also promised to provide the log on Monday i.e.14.7.2008 and will call me back.

12.7.2008: 1600 Hrs. I talked to Mr. Manual from Pune for clarification as to why my log does not matches with system log, he could not clarify the matter. Further I asked him if my credit limit is Rs. 1700 how I was allowed to use internet upto Rs. 2912.00, he had no answer. He further assured me that some expert on internet will speak to me shortly. But no one spoke to me.

12.7.2008: Received letter from Pamela Desouza

We acknowledge receipt of your complaint regarding excess billing. We are looking into the matter and will revert asap.

12.7.2008: I have also lodged my complaint on Complaints Board.com with complaint No. 177112

12.7.2008: 1330 Hrs.: I have lodged the formal complaint with nodal officer Gujarat, appellate authority Gujarat, nodal officer corporate office

12.7.2008: 12.50 AM: I had a talk with Minal at Ahmedabad and she replied that Supervisor is not available and she can??t help me right now and cannot provide the No. of Chandigarh office.

I visited Tata Indicom office, Vadodara on 12.07.2008 and lodged a formal complaint with complaint no 4868892757. I discussed the matter with Madam Indrani she replied consumer??s log will never match with system log.

Thus Tata Indicom is fooling customers and taking them with ride by providing wrong log.

12.07.2008: I hold a Tata Indicom no. 9227483094 with account no. 900316481. I was billed excess for the month of May 2008, but I didn??t complaint. Again I was billed heavily in the month of June 2008 for Rs 2917 instead of Rs. 900.00 the rental only.

I contacted their Chandigarh office and several assistants talked but of no use some of them to name with are Mr. Sanjay and Ganesh on 11.7.08. These phone attendants should be removed from the job itself as they didn??t try to understand the problem and cannot handle a customer??s need.

I have a log to prove my point that my usage is quite less. Accordingly my internet was disconnected from 3rd July to 11th July and my work suffered. When I asked how much money to be deposited to start my connection, one person told Rs. 5890.00 approximately or more. The other person Mr. Pankaj said he cannot reply till bill is generated on 11th. Only on 11th July I could know that I had to deposit Rs 2917 and I have deposited Rs. 3000.00. vide receipt no. 4014910.

But I have to fight out this complaint with Tata Indicom India. I have to be refunded my excess money charged beyond my rental as no body could provide me the log of my usage till date.

I charge them that they are billing excess or somebody else is using the net on my account.

TRAI Format for Consumer Protection and Redressal of Grievances Form

(See regulation 11 of the Telecom Consumers Protection and Redressal of Grievances Regulations, 2007)

Appeal under regulation 11 of the Telecom Consumers Protection and Rederessal of Grievances Regulations, 2007 to the appellate authority appointed by __Tata Indicom_______________________________________

1. The Name Address, Telephone Number, Facsimile number and the e-mail address of the Appellant. Udai Pratap Singh, C302, Shail Raj Complex, Dairy Circle, Makarpura Road, Vadodara 390009, Gujarat, India

[email protected]

2. Telephone Number or Cellular Mobile Telephone Number or Broadband connection Identity, as the case may be, for which appeal is filed. 09428007372,

Tata Indicom no. 9227483094 with account no. 900316481

3. The name of the city /district of the origin of complaint. Vadodara

4. The name of the State or licensed service area, as the case may be, of the origin of complaint. Gujarat

5. Nature of complaint (specify, whether complaint relates to Provisioning / Activation / Billing / Fault-Repair/ Service disruption / Disconnection of service / Value Added Services / Closure /Termination or specific if any other). Billing

6. The docket number allotted by the Call Center at the time of lodging complaint under clause (a) of sub-regulation (1) of regulation 4 and date of lodging the complaint with the Call Centre. 4868892757

7. The unique complaint number communicated by the Nodal Officer under clause (c) of regulation 8, and date of lodging the complaint with the Nodal Officer. 4868892757 dated 12.07.2008

8. Date of decision of the Nodal Officer and decision intimated by the Nodal Officer under clause (d) of regulation 8, if any. 21.07.2008

9. Statement of Facts relating to grievance or appeal:

(attach separate sheet signed by Appellant if required) attached

10. Grounds of Appeal: A full description of the matter, which is the cause of the grievance, including copies of any relevant and supporting documents, if any, and the relief claimed in Appeal (attach separate sheet signed by Appellant if required.) Providing a wrong bill contrary to the log I have while using the internet. Tata Indicom (mine & their) log differs.

11. A statement to the effect that same subject matter or issue, for which an appeal has been filed under these

regulations, is not covered in any proceedings before any court or tribunal or under the Consumer Protection Act,1986 (68 of 1986) or any other law for the time being in force.

I am appealing first to you then I will go to court

12. Details of any other relevant material or document. All available document attached

13. Whether the Appellant requests to grant him exemption from appearing in person and decide the appeal on the basis of information, document or record filed by him. Grant exemption from appearing in person

Form of verification

I,___UDAI PRATAP SINGH_ (name in full and in block letters), the appellant, son/daughter of

__Dr. MATHURA PRASAD SINGH___ do hereby declare that to the best of my knowledge and belief, the information given in this appeal and the annexure and statements Accompanying the appeal are correct, complete and truly stated.

Signature of appellant

(Name of appellant)_____Sd/-____________________

(Specify status of the appellant, whether a

company/firm/society/individual/others

___INDIVIDUAL____)

Note1. The Form of appeal, grounds of appeal and the form of Verification appended shall be signed by the appellant.

Note2. The appellant shall submit in duplicate the appeal in this Form.


0 Comments

Post a Comment