General Aluminum Company Of Texas - General Aluminum Company Of Texas (windows)

Posted on Friday, March 2nd, 2007 at 9:09pm CST by 8e7f1dd2

Company: General Aluminum Company Of Texas

Category: Building, Construction

We built a new house 2 years, 3 months ago and installed General Aluminum single hung series 5000/5300 windows. We purchased them from National Home Center in Russellville, Arkansas. At the time of purchase we inquired about the possibility of sweating and were told they had received no complaints of this window sweating. This is the 3rd winter since we built and the sweating is so bad, the sills are badly water damaged and in very cold weather we actually have extremely large amounts of ice form on the inside of these windows. We have had a representative from GA as well as from National Home Center to our home to observe and discuss the issue. We have been told there is nothing they can do. We just want potential buyers of these windows to know what possibly may be in store for them and that the seller or the manufacturer will not stand behind or guarantee any quality issues with this product.

Harold


24 Comments

Post a Comment

fdb01951, 2008-07-29, 02:55PM CDT

Its called condensation - just like a cold coke bottle sweats in the heat, a cold metal window sweats inside a warm house if the humidity is too high.

Suggest you consider buying a de-humidifier, it worked for me.

As long as there isn't moisture between the panes of glass which indicates that the seal between the panes has broken, this is the best solution.

2e2bb3e6, 2008-10-28, 03:45PM CDT

We built a house and moved in Jan. 06. I asked for vinyl windows but the builder refused to let me upgrade to them. He stated his windows were above builder quality and has no problems with them. Ours sounds just like your house it is terrible in the winter. Freezes up sweats terribly bad and I have to wipe them out every morning and afternoon. We hate them. General Aluminum will not help us they say the problem is not with there windows. The company that had them delivered to us will not do anything about them either. What can I do ? Will you contact us? 405 3500109. the builder will not fix the problem either and we are at our wits end. We need help. Thanks Stan

2e2bb3e6, 2008-10-28, 03:49PM CDT

We have tried the dehumidifier and it does not retrieve any water from our home. That is a lot of crap. Our windows leak so bad that if you put a candle or a incense stick in front of the windows they blow the smoke and make the flames wiggle around because of window allowing air through the edges that do NOT seal. I am tired of the excuses they give us. I am NOT that stupid

bebe631d, 2008-12-12, 09:15PM CST

My windows started losing their seals after about six years following installation in a new home. They will not honor their ten year warranty if you are not the original owner. And even if you are, it's $90 a pop for labor. I have had problems with four windows (condensation between panes).

72430208, 2009-02-02, 11:42AM CST

We just completed a new home. Our contractor took out Pella windows and substituted with General Aluminum. I have seen the sweating on windows to the East and North sides of the house. I guess we are stuck with them. We fired and are lidigating the contractor.

bebe631d, 2009-02-14, 12:18PM CST

I'm the author of the Dec 12 comment and just reporting another window has lost its seal. Only two months after my original post. I'll continue to update as each window goes bad. I'm having another local company replace the windows and I'm retaining the receipts.

19a7f94e, 2009-09-23, 08:54PM CDT

We too have General Aluminum windows and the builder... Hogan Homes will not stand behind the product either. We have serious condensation between the panes not on the inside or outside of the window... but between the double panes, I don't think a dehumidifier will fix that.

Check out the pathetic response from our builder concerning our problem.

We wrote:

Hogan Homes,

My name is gabriel. My family and I currently live in a home built by Hogan. The address is XXXX Garden Ct.

We are having problems with the widows in our home building moisture between the double panes and want to check on the status of any existing warranty. The previous owners were XXX and XXX, the home was build in 2002.

We would greatly appreciate any information you would be able to provide.

Respectfully,

Gabriel

They wrote:

The house at 6234 Garden Ct. was built in November of 2002, any builder warranty would have expired in November of 2004. I believe that any warranty with the window manufacturer would have been 5 years, which would have expired in 2007.

==================================

Jerry Jo Largin

Hogan Homes, Inc.

(361) 826-1010

[email protected]

I responded:

Whether or not Hogan Homes has a warranty that extends beyond two years, I believe that your company should know that the windows you install have a very high rate of failure. In our house 5 windows have condensation between the panes. If the manufacturer does not extend warranties to windows that have been installed in high humidity areas... wouldn't that indicate that Corpus Christi is not a good place to use them?

I was told by your associate that the window manufacturer for Hogan Homes is General Aluminum. I went their website and found the following blurb about window seal warranty:

Glass Term

General Aluminum warrants to the User that the original insulated glass in General Aluminum windows and doors will be free from failure of the air seal for a period of ten (10) years from the date imprinted on the spacer within the insulated glass unit. Should a material obstruction of vision occur due to failure of the air seal during the ten-year warranty period, General Aluminum, at its sole option, will provide either a replacement piece of insulated glass or a sash glazed with insulated glass.

The website goes on to state that GA does not cover the circumstances below:

Notwithstanding any other term, GENERAL ALUMINUM SHALL BEAR NO RESPONSIBILITY OR LIABILITY WHATSOEVER FOR:

a) glass breakage, distortion or any failure or operating difficulty involving accident, abuse, misuse, alteration, misapplication, faulty building construction or design, failure due to acts of God, lack of product maintenance, handling, storage, or installation, including but not limited to non-vertical, upside down, on-the-side, or out of square installation;

b) any condition resulting from exposure to corrosive fumes or condensation, subjection to stress from movement of the structure, films and coatings on the glass, or use in swimming pool enclosures, natatoriums, or other high humidity areas;

c) CONDENSATION on windows or doors (the result of indoor humidity and relative interior/exterior temperatures), the formation of condensation shall not constitute a product defect;

It is unfortunate that a relatively new home... 7 years... should need to have multiple windows replaced. Then again I am becoming less and less surprised given the lack of quality home construction in South Texas, and the even worse customer service.

For future reference your email providing the "hey... not our problem" response shows that you could care less. I would suspect that we are not the only other Hogan Home that has had this issue. You all must be very proud of yourselves for limiting your liability to two years.

Fortunately for us, Miles was helpful enough to give us the window manufacturer information and even provided phone numbers and a name of someone to speak to at General Aluminum.

Gabriel

eb8e7386, 2010-03-24, 01:44PM CDT

My house was built in 1998 and I purchased it in 2008. Well our windows are so bad that I have to wipe the down twice a day and if I don't mold grows along the edges up and across the middle aluminum divider.

I am also frustrated because I cannot find any one to assist me. Our Builder Mercedes Homes says they cannot help because we our outside the warranty time frame.

I just don't understanding how windows seals between the metal framing can be so bad that they do not last and allow so much cold air to leak inside to create sweating and ice build up.

Has anyone thought of filing a class action law suit? To force this company to stand behind their product and workmanship.

258e5661, 2011-12-16, 11:28AM CST

I am having the same sweating problem in Central Arkansas on a new home built in 2003. I have had all the symptoms. Sweating, mold, ice on the inside. After 6 years the seals started to go and got moisture inside the window. I called National Home Center who sent 2 guys out to replace 5 windows (bottom half only). Now going into the 9th year and the top half seals are going. National Home Center Arkansas went out of business. They were covering parts and labor. Now General Aluminum refers me to Little Rock Glass who doesn't cover labor, only materials. I would not have used aluminum if it were my choice. I bought the house brand new but already built. My neighbor has vinyl, similar conditions, no problems so far. I would like to be notified of any class action law suit please so include me.

e55f2dd3, 2013-04-24, 11:20AM CDT

My home was built in 2010 and I purchased this home in 2011 as first owner. From the very first winter I had problems with extreme condensation on the windows and immediately contacted the builder and company that installed them. Both have done absoluately NOTHING! One said they contacted General Aluminum and they said condensation on these windows is normal. NORMAL? I don't think so when it is so extreme that the paint on the window sill is warped. I have run exhaust fans for hours on end, continuously run the ceiling fans.......raised the house temperature and removed all window coverings. I have NO privacy in my home and windows that still has the same issues. Something should be done to this company to make them stand behind their product and warranty!!!!!!!

Ken c., 2013-05-21, 02:16PM CDT

I had my home built by Japhet Custom Homes in 2002, in San Antonio, TX. After a year or two, one window, facing the western afternoon sun, had the seal break and began sweating winter and summer (all year long). Not long after, each year a couple of more windows' seals broke. Now, 12 years later, almost ALL of the windows have either the lower or upper panes' seals broken, regardless of the direction in which they face.

If I can avoid it, I will NEVER get a double pane window again. It does not pay for itself in any way way, EVER!

I too called before the 10 year point, and got the run around too from the home builder and General Aluminum Windows. Class action suit???

braunfels, 2013-07-25, 07:35PM CDT

We just got off the phone with a GA rep who is refusing to honor the 10 year warranty for the exact seal failure problems others on this forum have. We 5 different arched windows in the front of our house and they have ALL failed. Three of them were previously replaced under warranty (we still had to pay labor) and now one of those has failed again, and it's only been 8 months since it was replaced. We are busy filing a complaint with the Dallas Better Business Bureau, but we think a class action suit is more appropriate. Please reply to our e-mail for more details and let us know if you are interested in pursuing legal action against GA.

c5d39c5d, 2013-08-16, 11:24AM CDT

We have had to replace two windows of the same companies product. We are now looking at 5 more that need to be replaced!!!! We had our house built in 2005. The first two windows were replaced in November 2011. It sounds like we have the same problem as most with the seal breaking and the windows are foggy (best I can describe). We are in for a class action suit.

braunfels, 2013-08-16, 02:36PM CDT

We have filed a complaint with the BBB and GA has still refused to honor their warranty. Check out the Dallas (that's where the company HQ is) BBB site and file your own complaints - if enough are received they will lower their rating to what it should be, an "F".

J R, 2013-11-05, 10:03PM CST

Does anyone have the NFRC stickers for these windows or cpd (idem number)

I may be able to give you some helpful information.

J R, 2013-11-05, 10:08PM CST

Are any of these issues from a DrHorton home?

Donna M., 2014-03-05, 08:55PM CST

We experience the same problems listed in this post we have replaced six windows and now I have a large 4 x 6 window going bad. The problem started about five years after the house was built of course this last one is 12 years old and nobody is going to even come out and look at the window. We will never use them in one of our houses again even if the windows cost double. Will file a complaint tomorrow with BBB. This has to stop!!!! Let us know if a suit materializes.

a72ea780, 2014-03-25, 08:57AM CDT

I agrea with you all. I have lived in my house for 17 years and have watched as window after window has failed. Let's hope someone knows an attorney who would like to sue them for all our expenses and to have them stop selling garbage windows!

JD S., 2014-06-18, 12:28PM CDT

Our home was completed January, 2002 and have had over 20 GA windows replaced due to broken seals. We are in real estate and almost every home we see needs to have numerous windows replaced due to broken seals. Most of the homes in the area have had GA windows installed by local contractors. Would be interested in joining a class action lawsuit.

braunfels, 2014-06-18, 01:38PM CDT

I have posted here before about our GA window seals failing and the refusal of GA to honor their warranty. Just so you all know, we of course filed a complaint with the BBB, but they ended up absolving GA and eventually removing our complaint from the record. So, even when a company like GA refuses to stand by their warranty, don't expect much help from the Better Business Bureau. They suck too. We ended up spending thousands out of our pocket to have the defective replaced.

ec8c16ba, 2014-10-30, 01:24PM CDT

WE moved into our new Dosti Homes house in December 2003 with windows from General Aluminum!!!

To date we have replaced eight (8) in December 2008 and a further eleven (11) in January 2013.

This has cost us in labour $1,590.00, manufacturer supplying the replacements.

We have one of the 2013 replacements completely fogged and needing replacement and will probably cut our cost by using a local manufacturer.

Donna M., 2014-10-30, 01:51PM CDT

We too just had to finally replace the glass and stop messing around with these people. We found them to be very unprofessional and down right rude when we did contact them with our problems. They know they are selling defective windows!!! What a shame they continue to stay in business. One thing is for sure, we will NEVER buy this product in or for a home again.

braunfels, 2014-10-30, 04:57PM CDT

We had another window seal fail and paid to have it replaced. The company that replaced it said they get a lot of their business from General Aluminum failures. Seem like they are good for one thing - keeping glass replacement companies in business.

f6a1faa8, 2014-12-07, 07:32PM CST

I have General Aluminum windows in our home that was built in 2008 that sweat in the winter months and I just noticed a couple with bad seals condensation between the glass. I will contact MG Building Materials they are the supplier for my home builder and see what they can or will do.

Keith Rukavina

Boerne, Texas

Post a Comment