LCBO - Complaint about a disrespectful female cashier at 2625D Weston Rd, Toronto

Posted on Thursday, April 27th, 2006 at 11:16pm CDT by cabea597

Company: LCBO - Complaint about a disrespectful female cashier at 2625D Weston Rd, Toronto

Category: Other

This complaint was sent to the LCBO - Liquor Control Board of Ontario

The incident occurred at 2200hrs on April 27th, 2006 at the checkout counter.

I don't remember the name of the cashier, but I can give an excellent description. She was between 5'3' - 5'4", Caucasian, bleached yellow-blonde hair (shoulder length), full make-up with very pale pink outlined lips (with lipstick filled in way beyond the borders of her lips), and overall resembling a want-to-be Pamela Anderson without the mammary glands.

The incident is as follows:

I am at the cashiers counter, and the blonde cashier is scanning my 5 bottles of wine. A heavy set, middle-aged man, with unruly facial hair, is standing right next to her (on her right) and they are cheerfully and heavily engaged in conversation about something. She is smiling at him and giving him her full attention. In the entire 20-30 seconds that it takes before I actually say something, the cashier has not acknowledged me once. Not a glance, not a hello, not a smile.

As I am handing her my credit card, I say to her "when did you stop greeting people at checkout?" She appears befuddled, and says "what?". I repeat my statement. Emboldened, she says "oh a million years ago". I say to her that she should start greeting people again. Defensively, she say "I can't be bothered...I would have to greet thousands of people a day". I say to her that it just good customer service to acknowledge the customer, instead of ignoring them. Still defensive, the cashier says "...I don't care. I didn't just start yesterday".

I sign my credit card receipt and had to remind her to give me my copy, after she started talking to the man (who was still standing beside her) AGAIN!!!

Honestly this woman, was not only rude, she was belligerent, and defiant. She looked like an out of work porn actress, yet was working at the LCBO and flirting/cavorting/picking-up a man right at the cash, and felt absolutely no way about it.

I find this kind of behavior to be highly unacceptable, especially for a government run liquor store. I would like a response to my complaint. And something done to re-educate the cashier about good customer service. This kind of behavior is rampant when public service employees are only accountable to their union, and not a licensing board. They can choose to behave in any manner that they wish without fear of reprisals, after all it is not THEIR business that they are running. Luckily, I have not encountered anyone like her at the LCBO before.

I choose to go to the Weston Rd. location. I also choose to send my readers to the Weston Rd. location for their alcoholic libations.

I had written a review on the Weston Rd. LCBO on April 6th, 2006 here

I can change this review to reflect the experience I had tonight, and send my readers to a different LCBO, or private winery.


5 Comments

Post a Comment

60d64537, 2006-05-19, 10:36PM CDT

Ok. Since you have not responded, I will get satifaction by posting this email at AOV. When people Google the LCBO in a week or so, they will be able to see the complaint in it's new and updated form.

So take that and stick it in your pipe hole you slackers!

LCBO - Complaint about a disrespectful female cashier at 2625D Weston Rd, Toronto

This complaint was sent to the LCBO - Liquor Control Board of Ontario

The incident occurred at 2200hrs on April 27th, 2006 at the checkout counter.

I don't remember the name of the cashier, but I can give an excellent description. She was between 5'3' - 5'4", Caucasian, bleached yellow-blonde hair (shoulder length), full make-up with very pale pink outlined lips (with lipstick filled in way beyond the borders of her lips), and overall resembling a want-to-be Pamela Anderson without the mammary glands.

The incident is as follows:

I am at the cashiers counter, and the blonde cashier is scanning my 5 bottles of wine. A heavy set, middle-aged man, with unruly facial hair, is standing right next to her (on her right) and they are cheerfully and heavily engaged in conversation about something. She is smiling at him and giving him her full attention. In the entire 20-30 seconds that it takes before I actually say something, the cashier has not acknowledged me once. Not a glance, not a hello, not a smile.

As I am handing her my credit card, I say to her "when did you stop greeting people at checkout?" She appears befuddled, and says "what?". I repeat my statement. Emboldened, she says "oh a million years ago". I say to her that she should start greeting people again. Defensively, she say "I can't be bothered...I would have to greet thousands of people a day". I say to her that it just good customer service to acknowledge the customer, instead of ignoring them. Still defensive, the cashier says "...I don't care. I didn't just start yesterday".

I sign my credit card receipt and had to remind her to give me my copy, after she started talking to the man (who was still standing beside her) AGAIN!!!

Honestly this woman, was not only rude, she was belligerent, and defiant. She looked like an out of work porn actress, yet was working at the LCBO and flirting/cavorting/picking-up a man right at the cash, and felt absolutely no way about it.

I find this kind of behavior to be highly unacceptable, especially for a government run liquor store. I would like a response to my complaint. And something done to re-educate the cashier about good customer service. This kind of behavior is rampant when public service employees are only accountable to their union, and not a licensing board. They can choose to behave in any manner that they wish without fear of reprisals, after all it is not THEIR business that they are running. Luckily, I have not encountered anyone like her at the LCBO before.

I choose to go to the Weston Rd. location. I also choose to send my readers to the Weston Rd. location for their alcoholic libations.

I had written a review on the Weston Rd. LCBO on April 6th, 2006 here

I can change this review to reflect the experience I had tonight, and send my readers to a different LCBO, or private winery.

--

Live life on purpose...

w4wtoronto.com

http://dontkeepsilent.ning.com

6c311715, 2008-09-24, 10:02PM CDT

well, you DID bait her, regardless how she was made up or trying hard to resist her fellow employee's advances. She didn't deserve your petty editorial.

But that's not my point.

I had an incident at another LCBO outlet, an unprecipitated argument about a misplaced 20 cent discount on a misplaced shelf-talker. Before I knew it, I had three employees, none of whom was remotely interested in resolving the issue, that I was overcharged!

Who did you contact at LCBO to vent? I visited their site, and there exist no links I could find that came close to "customer relations", or "comments"

a5180d3d, 2008-12-23, 02:08AM CST

The staff at every LCBO location needs to be revaluated. As a Christmas casual I have witnessed alot of low class individuals working for provincial government. In my opinion Liquor Stores should privatize and lower these idiots pays entirely....come May..we shall see what happens.

7a7493f3, 2011-11-16, 03:07PM CST

You were asking for it. Would you be so cheery if you had the same job? Trying to please everyone is impossible. People like you are the ones I hate. Complaining about stupid shit. Get a hobby.

f16fdf54, 2012-02-25, 05:59PM CST

I totally agree with you on the issue of the lost art of customer service. I just had a run in with a VERY rude cashier about me bringing my 5lb toy Poodle that I was holding into the LCBO in Forest On. This is a small town with a big city bad attitude. She was not only rude but ignorant as well. I could understand this "LAW" if they were serving food or something like that but as we all know they only have SEALED booze, wine and beer bottles. What was my big bad doggy going to do contaminate the product! Gimme a bloody break!!! Maybe they should concentrate on asking the 17 year old kid that lives next door to me for his ID every weekend when he comes in to purchase his weekly 40oz bottle of Vodka! How do I know this...He brags about it all the time. You don't hear her being rude to him now do you!!! Point being 'LIGHTEN UP YOU CRABBY OLD LCBO BAT" Don't sweat the small stuff!!!

Post a Comment